fancy pants dinners

They don’t have to be just for Sundays, people. Today is day one of my self imposed four day weekend (a break I needed badly because people are stupid and make me want to punch them in the face) and this means I won’t have to spend my birthday answering phone call after phone call of stupid questions nor will I have to listen to idiotic, overly self entitled and just plain rude people getting all up in my grill. So I decided to celebrate with skirt steak and yeast rolls. Since I didn’t get a proper yeast roll for Thanksgivings, I have felt all out of sorts. Thankfully lovely Amanda solved the problem for me with her SUPER DELICIOUS rolls. ::dies:: Erik liked them so much he ate two all at once.

Truthfully, I totally planned my dinner around a side dish. I saw a perfectly delicious looking recipe with carrots over on Orangette’s blog. I don’t usually make a big deal out of side dishes – it’s usually bread related with a vegetable as afterthought for me but these carrots just struck me. I lusted after them, honestly. Paired with butter basted, sliced marinated skirt steak (an adaptation of a recipe from Ad Hoc at Home – who can go wrong with that, honestly – and those amazing rolls, my fancy pants Saturday night dinner was spectacular.

Skillet Carrots with Onion and Thyme
recipe from Orangette

You Need:
half an onion, frenched (here’s a helpful link Molly posted that shows how to do this)
2 large carrots, peeled and cut into 1/4 inch rounds
a garlic clove, sliced thinly
a few thyme sprigs
salt and pepper
oil

Heat a large skillet on medium high heat. Add a Tablespoon or so of olive oil to the skillet – swirl it around to coat the entire bottom of the pan. Add the onions and some salt. Cook until they’ve softened a bit (but not browned). Toss in the garlic and reduce the heat – stir it around until the garlic is fragrant. Toss in the carrots, thyme, and some salt. If you need more oil, add it. I did not. Cover the carrots and cook over medium, stirring once in awhile until the carrots are tender and the onions are soft. Discard the thyme; dish it up.

2 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes

2 responses to “fancy pants dinners

  1. jewelboxer

    dude, what is happening with the potatoes on the back of that plate? i need to know please. they look like a solid go-to side that you could do different sauces or toppings or whatever with.

  2. rebekah

    ahh those are the hasselback potatoes. they’re basically baked potatoes with thin slices of garlic in between some of the potato slits. try them – they’re awesome.

    http://rebekahshouseofmunch.wordpress.com/2009/09/06/fancy-baked-potatoes/

Leave a Reply

