Menu Planning

There are a few repeats on the menu this week, things I didn’t make last week, dinners I was too tired to make, switched up desserts at the last minute, that kind of thing. It’s fine with me – it just makes it easier to fill in the blanks. I’m also very pleased because at Christmas, a neighbor unexpectedly gave us a spiral cut ham and I’m going to glaze it and bake it on Sunday. Erik has to help out at the liquor store Sunday so it will be a nice thing for him to come home to, I think. Anyway, blah blah blah, here’s the menu.

Saturday
Dinner: roasted pork made into tacos (on corn tortillas with pico de gallo and refried beans)

Sunday
Breakfast: eggs (did I mention we got a dozen fresh laid eggs from a local dude’s chickens? We did. They are beyond delicious. I want to have my own chickens so bad, there aren’t even words to describe how bad I want them), garden hash browns, bacon
Dinner: orange glazed ham, creamy green beans, mashed potatoes, buttermilk fantails

Monday
Breakfast: breakfast biscuit sandwiches
Dinner: cuban sandwiches (with leftover pork roast and Sunday’s ham), french fries, corn (it’s fresh corn on the cob time again! I’m so glad!)

Tuesday
Breakfast: blueberry buttermilk muffins, poached eggs, leftover ham
Dinner: shredded beef burritos, rice

Wednesday
Breakfast: eggs with bacon and scallion grits, toast
Dinner: beer and onion braised chicken stew, leftover rolls

Thursday
Breakfast: “one bowl” refrigerator waffles
Dinner: that grilled chicken breast over charro beans and rice that I didn’t make last week

Friday
Breakfast: cinnamon pecan oatmeal drizzled with maple syrup
Dinner: ginger scallion beef and broccoli, rice

Baking: I ended up making banana bread with some rapidly blackening bananas and carrot quick bread for Erik for lunch desserts last week, so I will be making that cinnamon chocolate bundt cake this week instead. Also on deck: Cuban bread for Monday’s sandwiches and I think that’s all I have for baking plans. This weekend, instead of baking, should be spent starting that Spring Cleaning 2011 spreadsheet I made a few weeks ago – I’ve got some deep cleaning to do, people!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Menu Planning

  1. jewelboxer

    mmmmm, cuban sandwiches. that would have made an easter ham okay for me in the end ;)

    i love love love farm fresh eggs. i don’t know what it is about them that makes them so damn good. i mean, i know the organic veggies and fruits are supposed to be better for you, but honestly, with the exception of honeycrisp apples, i’ve never been able to tell a difference. so why can i tell a difference with milk and eggs? weird.

  2. rebekah

    i can’t tell a difference either with organic fruits and veg, to be honest. except they cost a lot more :) with eggs and milk maybe the animal’s diet and the no processing or hanging around for so long waiting to be shipped somewhere has something to do with it? I was reading a blog post from a lady who was recapping what owning chickens was like and since she was letting them eat scraps from their cooking, the eggs were super tasty and flavorful. I want chickens!

  3. jewelboxer

    dude, i want chickens too. so bad. and quail.

  4. rebekah

    quail would be fun. and delicious.

Leave a Reply

