pizza nite!

i make a pretty kick ass pizza, i’ll freely admit that. by request from erik, i made my usual 2 large pizzas for last night’s dinner. while i don’t have a recipe per se, i can give you suggestions on how to make kick ass pizzas.

1. for convenience, i use frozen pizza dough that you can get at the grocery store freezer section. sure i can homemake the dough, but i’d have to drag out my semolina flours, and wait for things to rise, etc. etc. as it is i only get 2 free hours at nite post evening walk, dinner, dinner dishes, brief house cleaning. i dont want to spend that waiting on dough to rise.

2. for my marinara sauce: i buy Muir Glen Organic Fire Roasted tomatoes. the big can. I process those in a blender, but first i cook (in olive oil): chopped onion, chopped itty bitty carrots, and minced garlic cloves. Then I add the tomatoes and a generous amount of tomato paste. I also use plenty of fresh cracked pepper and an Italian seasoning packet from the grocery store. It just tastes bland to me if I’m just using fresh oregano and basil. even if i use an ungodly amount of garlic. i have to have that spaghetti sauce seasoning packet.

3. when I’m prepping my dough balls (hehehe) to roll out, i work in garlic powder and those grinders seasonings by McCormick (the Italian seasoning). I also brush the crusts with olive oil.

Photobucket Image Hosting

4. i make 2 pizzas because alex is picky. ours has: red onion, red bell pepper, canadian bacon, pepperoni, pineapple and mushrooms. mushrooms are, by the way, dangerous. dont’ let anyone tell you theyre not. just ask my thumb:
Photobucket Image Hosting

Anyhow, pre-baking your crust makes it crispy. I go at 400 degrees until it’s fairly browned and the bottom is for sure done. then i put on my toppings and pop it back in the oven for another 10 minutes or so til the cheese is melted. et voila:

Photobucket Image Hosting

Photobucket Image Hosting

and yes, they are as good as they look. happy pizza making

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

