Sunday Sweets

I’ve tried a lot of different variations on the infamous peanut butter cookie, but the best, peanut butteriest, nicest to eat cookie recipe still belongs to Martha Stewart. I mean that, too, not just because I fear if I didn’t say that, she’d kill me. Because I have a feeling she could. But if you’ve got a hankering for a truly great peanut butter cookie, this is the one.

Martha Stewart’s Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

You Need:

2 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 sticks softened butter
1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 1/2 cups regular, smooth peanut butter

Preheat the oven to 350. In a bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, and baking soda. In your stand mixer (or by hand) blend together the butter and sugars until fluffy (a few minutes at least). Mix in the eggs and then the peanut butter. With your mixer set on low, add the flour mixture in 3 batches, mixing it in well and scraping the sides each time. Refrigerate the mixture for half an hour, at least. Line cookie sheets with parchment, or, barring parchment, lightly spray it with non stick spray (that worked fine for me). Martha advises using a 1 1/2 inch ice cream scoop. I don’t own one of these, as we eat ice cream maybe 10 times a year, and usually just eat it out of the carton. It’s good, I’m lazy, don’t judge me… Anyway, I just used a regular sized cereal spoon, and didn’t scoop huge bits, just enough. I spaced them about 2 inches apart, they spread a bit. Use a fork to create the crosshatches. Bake until golden brown, about 14 – 16 minutes. Cool ’em. Eat ’em. They have a really nice texture and are really peanut buttery, which I guess is all you can really ask of a peanut butter cookie.

DSCF1695

this, from my favorite recipe blog , was just a lark, for me. I thought it looked delicious on the web, but was disturbed while mixing up the batter, because it didn’t look like a whole lot. I thought maybe I did something wrong, but persisted anyway, because who wants to waste batter, and I’ve come to trust this blogger. Turns out she was right. If you want a simple, tasty dessert with a really nice, cinnamony, and not cloyingly sweet taste, this is a perfect little cake.

Cinnamon Crumb Cake
(recipe here, if you want to see her far lovelier than mine pictures of the cake)

You Need:
1 1/4 cups flour
2/3 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup chilled butter, cut into small pieces
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup yogurt (she used vanilla, I used plain b/c that’s all I had)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 large egg

Preheat the oven to 350. Coat an 8 inch cake pan with cooking spray (I used Baker’s Joy – I freakin’ love that stuff). Combine the flour, brown sugar, cinnamon and salt in a bowl. Cut in the butter with a pastry blender (or two knives, or your fingers, however you do it). Reserve 1/2 cup of the flour mixture for a topping. Make sure your butter is well cut in, because I don’t think mine was enough. I had floury bits on top of my cake. Put the remaining flour mixture, baking powder, baking soda into your mixer. Add the yogurt, vanilla, and egg. Beat it at medium. Spoon the batter into the pan, smooth it out. Sprinkle your reserved topping on top. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until it tests done. Serve with whipped cream, if you want.

DSCF1694

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

