a sunshine and pancake morning

because sitting at the kitchen table with a plate of hot, lightly spiced, fruity pancakes and crisp bacon while the sun is streaming in through windows and warming your skin, making you happy to be alive is just enough sometimes.

Cardamom Apple Pancakes
recipe from The Hazel Bloom

You Need:

1 1/4 cups flour
1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1 Tablespoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
1/4 cup (4 Tablespoons) melted and slightly cooled butter
1 egg
1 cup milk or buttermilk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 large apple, peeled, cored, and diced into small pieces

whisk the flour, baking powder, sugar, and cardamom together in a bowl. in another bowl, whisk together the butter, egg, milk or buttermilk, and vanilla together. stir the wet ingredients into the dry (but don’t beat the crap out of it. just incorporate it gently). stir in the apple pieces. heat a griddle or large non stick pan. spray with cooking spray. place a large spoonful (i used a large serving spoon) of batter onto the hot surface. cook until bubbly on top and browned on the bottom, flip. keep cooking until they’re cooked through. Enjoy next to an open window on a sunny morning with a hot cup of coffee.

cooking music: i’ve got Thao Nguyen in my head non stop now.

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Uncategorized

2 responses to “a sunshine and pancake morning

  1. hey another Texas, yeah!! great blog, thanks for stopping by. true sometimes pancakes will make the world seem super sweet..we had some blackberry pancakes this morning also..they were yummy..great recipe

    sweetlife
    ps I lived in Driscoll when I first got married in 1998, then we moved to Killen hubby was at Fort Hood, now I’m in Edinburg, Texas..take care will visit often..

    • rebekah

      blackberry sounds awesome, I’ve got to get on that.

      it is such a small world. that amazes me sometimes. I lived in Driscoll around that time, too. We moved there when I was 11 in 1992 and stayed until about 2000, after I graduated high school. That’s very cool! I went back to Texas for vacation in October 2009 and we drove through. It still looks the same. 🙂 I moved to Wyoming when I got married in 06, but I just have to get back home. I miss it way too much. Thanks for stopping by. I’ve been reading your blog forever now. You’ve got some great stuff 🙂

Leave a Reply

