make your own take out

I love local pizzeria pizza and I love Little Caesar’s pizza, and Papa John’s. I even like Domino’s once in awhile. But I can’t stand Pizza Hut. And yes, I understand that the aforementioned pizzas are essentially the same animal, but they’re leaps and bounds better than Pizza Hut. I do, however, like the texture of the pan crusts for Pizza Hut pizzas. So when this blog published a post on a Pizza Hut clone and I took a look at the crust she ended up with, I had to jump on that bandwagon. I know I said I’d never make another recipe for crust after Pioneer Woman’s, I’m thinking pizza dough recipes are going to be like biscuit recipes for me. I’m always going to be searching for the Holy Grail of pizza crust. This one makes my top 5 for sure.

Pizza Hut Clone
recipe from Mangio da Sola

You Need:

1 1/2 cups milk, warmed
1 package active dry yeast
1 Tablespoon sugar
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 cups flour

In a bowl, stir together the milk, sugar, and yeast. Stir in the oil and let this sit for a few minutes. Add in the flour and salt and mix together well. Check the consistency of your dough at this point. I ended up needing a little bit more flour than the four cups to get it to where it wasn’t super sticky and difficult to work with. Mix it altogether well and knead for about 10 minutes. Separate the dough into two equal size balls. Drizzle a Tablespoon or so of oil into two large (10 or 11 inch) cast iron skillets. Brush the oil all over the bottom and sides. Place your dough balls into the skillets and using your hands, press the dough out into rounds. You won’t be able to get it up the sides yet. But I got mine pressed out to the size of the bottom of the pans. Cover the pans and let the dough rise for 1, 1/2 hours. Heat the oven to 450. Press the dough down and further up the sides of the pans. Prick all over the bottom with a fork. Par bake the crusts until lightly browned. Spread your pizza sauce (recipe follows), and top with cheese and whatever you want. Bake until the crust is golden brown and the cheese is melted. Let cool for a few before you cut it up.

The blog with this pizza recipe also inadvertently solved my pizza sauce hate problem. I’m always complaining that my pizza sauce tastes too much like regular spaghetti sauce, well this one, with just a few ingredients is exactly what i’ve been looking for. It’s definitely not something I’d serve with my spaghetti and meatballs. It’s perfect for laying out on your pizzas. No more sauce-less pizzas for us!

Quick (very quick) Pizza Sauce

You Need:
an 8 oz. can tomato paste
1/2 cup water
2 Tablespoons Italian seasoning
1/2 teaspoon sugar

Mix all this together well. Heat it up. Spread it on your pizza.

7 Comments

Filed under fun with yeast, Uncategorized

7 responses to “make your own take out

  1. wellmet

    Holy toledo, that looks awesome! I’m definitely trying that crust, I’ll keep you posted. Nom nom nom.

    • rebekah

      you didn’t hear such an unhealthy suggestion from me, but uh the crust is even more awesome with some garlic butter brushed on …

  2. It looks so tasty. I can’t believe I haven’t tried making homemade pizza yet.

    • rebekah

      you should. it’s so much better tasting than take out. plus you can control the fat and calories you consume. i like doing all veggie pizzas on thin crusts. so good.

  3. Pingback: CSA Week Ten: Ingredients « One Hour of Home

  4. Pingback: Vegetable Pizza « One Hour of Home

  5. Pingback: CSA Week Ten: Summary « One Hour of Home

Leave a Reply

