my favorite meal of the day

always and forever will be breakfast. I don’t understand people who can’t eat in the morning. I go to bed thinking about what I’ll eat when I wake up. That sounds pathetic but it’s entirely true. Erik used to be one of those people who hated breakfast – he always made his “ooh nasty” face when I even brought up the subject. But since his line of work includes a lot of physical labor and he’s constantly burning a truckload of calories and quickly, he started getting dizzy halfway through the morning and not feeling well. I immediately diagnosed him as not having enough energy in him and/or low blood sugar and started making him eat breakfast every morning. Problem solved instantly. He doesn’t skip a day eating breakfast now. And my insistence has backfired on me a bit because now I can’t get away with not making him eggs or something in the morning. But I don’t have to worry about him passing out in the middle of town because of hunger so it’s worth it. (Most of the time. Not when I’m scrubbing dried egg yolks and toast crumbs off my placemats though.)

Sunday breakfasts are still sacred because I can really stretch out the breakfasting experience and make something spectacular. This weekend we got some veggies in on the act by way of a baked egg with vegetable hash stovetop cooked and then baked in one skillet. Paired with my favorite biscuits, this is an awesome way to start off a languid Sunday morning.

Baked Egg Skillet with Vegetable Hash
recipe from An Edible Mosaic

You Need:
4 eggs
a couple Tablespoons of oil
either 2 large or 3 medium potatoes, peeled, rinsed, and cut into cubes
1/4 small onion, chopped
1/2 medium bell pepper (I used red)
a couple cloves of garlic, minced (fresh garlic Amanda – are you proud of me?)
4 eggs
salt and pepper
chopped parsley

Heat the oven to 400. Heat up the oil in a large skillet. Add your potatoes and cook, until browned and cooked through. Add the onion, bell pepper, garlic, and some salt and pepper. Cook for a few minutes, until the bell pepper and onion have softened a bit. Make some small wells in the vegetable mixture. Crack your four eggs into these wells. Pop the entire thing into the oven. Bake until you have the eggs done how you like them. We cooked them until our whites were set and the yolks were still runny. Take it out of the oven and sprinkle with parsley.

cooking music: Florence + the Machine

6 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Uncategorized

6 responses to “my favorite meal of the day

  1. goodness, that sounds tasty – i bet this would be good with sweet potatoes, too. 🙂

  2. rebekah

    ooh yes it would. i’m new to sweet potatoes but i think i’d like swap that in for plain russets …

  3. I never cared for breakfast until my last year of college. I’ve been a convert ever since. Now I love love breakfast and must eat something in the mornings or else I feel nauseous.

    Oh man, that looks/sounds so tasty!

  4. rebekah

    i feel gross and sickly if i don’t get breakfast in me, too.
    and make this dish, dude. it’s awesome.

  5. I love breakfast, oh migas with coffee, love it…I bet my hubby would love this too, hey my hubby grew up in Driscoll..maybe you know him??

    sweetlife

  6. rebekah

    migas are in my top 10 favorite dishes ever.

    and i might know him or know of him. what’s his name?

Leave a Reply

