the dreaded “ew nasty” face

I get it a lot these days. It’s one of the pitfalls of living with a meat and potatoes man with a slightly unadventurous palate. Don’t get me wrong, I can be simple meat and potatoes/standard comfort food myself, but sometimes I want someone more exotic, something different. I’ve always said you won’t catch me assigning a specific dish to a weekday and the closest things that I’ve come to for “go-to” dishes that I might make with any sort of regularity are tacos. And stir frys. Because I’m selfish and mean like that. See, everyone knows I’m an Asian food fan. In a big, big way. Erik is not. I’m always searching out recipes that test my abilities and my palate. So when I happened upon a recipe for chicken korma from the Food Network magazine that utilized things I already had in my fridge and pantry, I jumped on it. I think one of the major goals for Food Network is to simplify dishes like these for the average home cook like me and I’m glad they do. Erik came home starving the other night and I plated this up and immediately received the “ew nasty” face. He ate it, but not happily. Me, I thought it was great.

Chicken Korma Pitas
recipe adapted from Food Network Magazine and the Noble Pig blog

You Need:

a large red onion, half chopped up, half thinly sliced
a 1 inch piece of garlic, peeled and sliced
2 garlic cloves, paper removed and smashed
a teaspoon of ground cumin (I would actually use a little more than this – the end product could have been more redolent with cumin, I feel)
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
salt
1/4 cup vegetable oil
3/4 lb. ground chicken OR I just cut two large breasts up into thin strips – had enough for dinner and my lunch the next day. I can’t get ground chicken here and I just barely got a food processor, why on earth do you expect that I’ll have a meat grinder? Seriously, you people and your silly expectations. πŸ˜‰
a small container of plain Greek yogurt
a handful or two of frozen peas (I used our garden peas)
chopped fresh cilantro (a handful)
round, flat pitas

In the food processor, whiz the chopped red onion, garlic cloves, ginger slices, cumin, coriander, some salt, and about 1/2 cup water and make a watery paste. Heat the oil in a large skillet (I just used my wok) and cook the sliced onions until softened. Stir in the paste. Cook until the water has disappeared (it took me between 5 and 8 minutes for this to occur). Add your chicken and cook until it’s done. I let mine get slightly browned. Whisk the yogurt with 1/4 cup water and stir this into the chicken along with the peas and cilantro and some salt. Just let it hang out for a few minutes too cook the peas through while you toast your pitas. To serve, dish up the chicken on top of the pitas, dollop with some more plain yogurt if you want, lime wedges and chopped cilantro.

cooking music: an awesome mix cd containing songs by the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Modest Mouse, Interpol, and other tasty hipster stuff I love, made for me by my bee-eff-eff, Joyful

4 Comments

Filed under Chicken

4 responses to “the dreaded “ew nasty” face

  1. Joy

    Sounds super yummy! Music sounds great too! So happy that you are enjoying the music I sent you. Did you enjoy the Leslie and the Lys songs?

  2. rebekah

    Which one are they? I like all the songs on both cds but many of the tracks I don’t know who they are πŸ™‚ Do you have a track listing, my dear? They’ve made for excellent driving music!

  3. Oh my! This looks like something even I could cook up.
    As for the “ew” face, the stepfather always gives me that face when I cook up tofu or eat sushi. They just don’t understand. Heh

  4. rebekah

    anything different and they act like we’re poisoning them. men. tsk. πŸ˜‰

    this is tasty. i think you’d enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

