things that kind of suck

I just realized it’s been three weeks since I last shaved. And this started before flu season began at work so I don’t really have that much of an excuse.I feel like a crunchy hippie lady. Or Paula Cole. Yeah, it’s that bad.

I’m a grown ass woman who does not tack up magazine cut outs of cute boys on her wall anymore (an EW pull out of the cast of True Blood tacked up in my crafty lady room notwithstanding) but I realized recently that I still hate Kate Bosworth for dating my Vampire Eric. So lame.

Some guy came into the office while I was running around like a mad woman and totally looked at me like I was some kind of strange, zombified creature. He even backed towards the door wide eyed when he was done asking me whatever question he asked me. And truthfully I probably didn’t even answer him with anything that made sense, which might explain his mystified facial expressions.

Erik made me breakfast for dinner the other night and I washed it down with a gin and tonic. And utterly enjoyed it.

Point is, I’m pretty sure I’ve lost half my mind, people. In the meantime, I’m salving the craziness of my life with cake. Zucchini Carrot Cake. With maple frosting. And if this is the most sane thing to happen to me for awhile, I accept that. With a crazed gleam in my eyes and frosting smeared across my face most likely, but I accept it.

Zucchini Carrot Cake with Maple Brown Sugar Frosting
recipe from Kitchen Simplicity

You Need:

2 eggs
1 cup sugar
2/3 cup canola oil
1 1/4 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon cloves
1/2 teaspoon ginger
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup shredded carrots
1 cup shredded zucchini
1/2 cup chopped pecans

Heat the oven to 350. Grease and flour two 8 inch round cake pans. In your stand mixer, beat the eggs and sugar together until the eggs are creamy looking and pale yellow. Add in the oil, incorporate it. In another bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, cloves, ginger, nutmeg and salt. Stir into the egg mixture. Stir in the carrots, zucchini, and pecans by hand. Make sure everything is incorporated together and scrape the batter equally into the prepared pans. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a tester inserted into the cake comes out clean. Let cool for a bit, then turn out onto cooling racks.

Brown Sugar Maple Frosting
You Need:

1  8 ounce package cream cheese
1/4 cup softened butter
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup maple syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla

Beat the cream cheese and butter together until fluffy. Add in the brown sugar. Beat in the maple syrup and vanilla.

2 Comments

Filed under Sweet Tooth

2 responses to “things that kind of suck

  1. jewelboxer

    “With a crazed gleam in my eyes and frosting smeared across my face…”
    how very ginsberg (without the illegal drugs) 😉

    this sounds like a great fall treat. i might just take it to our turkey day get-together, tradition be damned.

    oh, and FUCK kate bosworth.

  2. rebekah

    some frostings should be considered an illegal drug.

    i was thinking something different for dessert for turkey day, too. i’ve never made a pumpkin roll, for example, and they are in my top 20 of best things i’ve ever put into my mouth.

    and yes, everyone else but alexander skarsgaard can fuck her, i say.

    i heart you.

Leave a Reply

