Erik Does Dinner

I think I really am going to start just staying late at work a day or two every week even when I don’t have to just so he’ll cook. I’m just evil enough to do that sort of thing. Erik made soup because it’s cold-ish outside and because, let’s face it people, soup is delicious. He says he’s a novice cook, but he’s done really well with the non-masa based, non-oyster soup (both things he’s an expert at) dishes he’s made so far. The only small problem is I’m so bossy and take charge that if I’m home while he’s cooking I have a hard time not sticking my nose into his business, i.e. stirring, chopping, suggesting he add this or that, or ask why he’s measuring. “because the recipe says to…” is usually his answer. I totally don’t get that (I’m a loner Dottie, a rebel) but that’s okay. Some people feel good about rules like that and he’s one of them. As long as I’m not doing all that work I guess that’s okay with me).

Creamy Potato Soup

You Need:

potatoes (i think he used four medium ones), peeled and diced
2 stalks of celery, diced up small
a large carrot, peeled and diced small
1 small onion, diced
1 cup chicken stock
oregano (he used a couple shakes of dried)
butter (ehhh 5 Tablespoons, let’s say)
2 cups milk
3 Tablespoons flour
salt, pepper

In a large soup pot, heat a couple tablespoons butter. Saute the onions, carrots, and celery until the onion has softened. Dump in your potatoes and the cup of chicken stock. I think Erik added his oregano at this point, too. Let this simmer until the potatoes are done. Whisk the flour with 1/4 cup of the milk. Pour this into the potatoes along with the rest of the milk and 3 Tablespoons of butter. Season with salt and pepper. Let it cook for a few minutes to let everything come together and let the soup thicken a bit.

This yielded enough for two (very) large bowls full plus enough for me to take a bowl to work with me for lunch today.

2 Comments

Filed under soup

2 responses to “Erik Does Dinner

  1. jewelboxer

    i love love love hearty soups, especially now that i’m all ‘more calories, bitches!’ but it actually hurts to consume as much as i’m supposed to be consuming. do you think erik will mind if i add in some cheese? you should also let him know his soupy skills are being used to convince my husband to spend more time in the kitchen.

    your measurement hatred, i feel it. i’m pretty sure that’s the biggest reason i’ve never been much of a baker; i resent all those measuring cups trying to tell me how to live my life.

    • rebekah

      dude, for my lunch serving of the soup the next day, i took a grater and a big hunk of cheddar cheese to work with me and showered that fucker in it (the soup, not my work). hot, cheesy and extra delicious for the effort so I say GO FOR IT. I’ll tell erik he’ll be the inspiration for men across america getting into the kitchen and for making wives happy. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

