what to eat at my house when you feel like you’re dying

I’d rather be shot in the face than have a stomach bug. There’s nothing worse than experiencing that horrible nausea, that rolling, generally unsettled feeling in the belly. Couple that with a fever and chills and well, the last couple of days have been pretty hellish for me. During this horrible couple of days I have consumed: cereal and toast (which were promptly thrown up), a few pringles, gummy bears, 7Up, a whole English Muffin (which did stay down, incredibly), an egg for lunch (which also stayed down) and everyone’s sicky time staple: chicken soup. Except I didn’t want a straight up chicken soup. I wanted something fancier. The Kitchn ran a recipe for a perfectly lovely-looking chicken posole and promised it would be done in 30 minutes. Hot broth, mild chicken, and lots of fresh vegetables piled on top did my Judas of a belly just fine. Next time when I’m feeling up to it, I think this could use some spice…

30 Minute Chicken Posole
recipe adapted from The Kitchn

You Need:
chicken stock (they used 8 cups, I used less for two people)
a bay leaf, a sprig of thyme, and a few sprigs oregano
2 garlic cloves, minced up
salt
cumin
ground coriander
red pepper flakes
chili powder
cooked chicken, breast or whatever, shredded
a can of hominy
for garnishing:
lime wedges
diced onion or scallions
diced tomatoes
diced tomatillos (I just made roasted tomatillo salsa to drizzle over)
avocado slices
chopped cilantro
other suggested garnishes:
lettuce or cabbage
radishes
crumbly queso
jicama

In a soup pot, bring the chicken stock to a boil. Add in the garlic and the bay leaf, thyme, and oregano. Simmer for about 10 minutes. Remove the bay leaf, thyme, and oregano and add in the salt, cumin, coriander, red pepper flakes, and chili powder. Continue simmering and taste for seasoning. They suggest adding more salt if you need it or water if you need to dilute it. I didn’t need the water, but if you do, add it. Drain and rinse your hominy. Add it and the chicken to the simmered stock. Let it keep cooking and let everything warm through. Ladle into bowls and top with your garnishes. I served mine with corn tortillas.


cooking music: just myself, whining about my aching belly and the clammy aftermath of my fever

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicken, soup, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

