dude food

Boy, when an appetite comes back after being absent for awhile, it comes back with a vengeance. I think the bug has officially left my body- because Erik is sick (and now I’m stuck watching Rocky Horror Picture Show and eating fun size Snickers by myself.)- but I’m totally fine with not being sick anymore. I took the opportunity to actually eat something other than toast or a few bites of cereal for a change and decided to spend the day in the kitchen. Since we don’t get trick or treaters in my part of the country, it was totally okay to sit on my couch in my pajamas and scarf a beefy, gravy laden sandwich, and get gravy all over my face and fingers. No one was around to see. I like that kind of freedom. Subsequently, I’m adding this sandwich to my repertoire of what I like to call “dude food.” If it’s a messy and completely unladylike dish, chances are I will love it. Because I myself am messy and unladylike a lot of the time. And apparently I am also a nerd, according to Erik, because I’m sitting on my couch currently, gravy free, but totally geeking out on Rocky Horror. Whatever, that just makes me awesome.

Roast Beef Po’Boys
recipe adapted from Serious Eats (the original recipe with all the measurements and their instructions – it takes them 2 days to make this dish, actually – is at this link, if you’d like to follow that instead)

You Need:

enough beef roast for a couple sandwiches (the original recipe gives 1 1/2 lbs of top round roast for enough to serve 4. I halved that probably and used a chuck roast)
a couple Tablespoons vegetable oil
a medium carrot, rough chopped
a medium onion, rough chopped
a couple celery stalks, rough chopped
chicken broth (the original recipe lists a quart. I’m pretty sure I didn’t use that much)
bay leaves
thyme sprigs
3 Tablespoons butter
3 Tablespoons flour
a couple garlic cloves, finely minced
salt, pepper
crusty French baguettes
mayo
dill pickle slices
sliced tomato
shredded lettuce or romaine

Heat your oven to 225. Pat your beef dry and season with salt and pepper. Heat the oil in a large oven safe pot. Add the beef to the hot oil and sear until well browned on all sides. Remove to a plate. Add the onions, carrot, and celery to the pot. Cook this until the vegetables brown and get tender. Put the beef back into the pot and add the chicken stock, bay leaves and thyme. Bring all this up to a boil, then remove from the heat, cover the pot, and pop it in the oven. Cook the beef until it has softened, but don’t let it get so soft it starts falling apart. When it is done, remove it from the oven. I deviated majorly from the recipe here by not refrigerating the beef overnight. I removed the beef from the pot and strained the vegetables etc. from the broth leftover. Keep this, by the way.

Put the oven on 350. In another pan on the stove, heat the butter. Add in the garlic and flour and cook until everything turns golden. Slowly pour in the stock and whisk. Bring to a boil, the reduce to simmer. Add in black pepper. Mine got too thick too fast, so I added some hot water to thin it a bit. Let it get thick, then season with salt. Remove from the heat. Slice the beef into slices and arrange in a baking dish. Pour the gravy on top. Cover the dish with foil and bake it so the beef gets more tender. Cut your baguettes into however many sandwiches you’re making. Spread some mayo on the bottom half of the bread. Top with beef and gravy, then replace the top of the bread. Toast in the oven for a few minutes. Serve the sandwiches with the lettuce (if you’re using it, I didn’t) tomatoes and pickles.


Cooking music: Sweet Transvestite of course, because I’ve been looking forward to the movie all weekend …

2 Comments

Filed under sandwiches, Uncategorized

2 responses to “dude food

  1. I need to stop reading your blog at 11pm. I always end up salivating. That sandwich looks scrumptious.

Leave a Reply

