Fall Comfort Food

Namely, pumpkin. I have this obsession with it currently. There are so many pumpkin things I love: pumpkin pie, of course, the pumpkin soup they make at a small restaurant not far from here, pumpkin bread, pumpkin rolls. I could go on all day but I’m sure you get my point. So I cut a recipe for pumpkin pancakes in half (because Erik is a hater and won’t eat pumpkin) and made sure I used buttermilk instead of regular milk to make them super fluffy and WOW. Instant Fall comfort. I made Erik take a bite and he grimaced. “Tastes like pumpkin pie,” he said. If that isn’t a glowing recommendation to try this breakfast out, then I just don’t know what is …

Pumpkin Pancakes
recipe adapted from Tasty Kitchen
*my adaptation makes 4 rather big pancakes plus one small one. Follow the link  there for the full recipe

You need:
1 cup flour
2 Tablespoons sugar (there’s no sugar in the original recipe, so I added it in)
1/2 Tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon ginger (ground)
3/4 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup pureed pumpkin (I used some I made over the weekend)
1 egg
3/4 Tablespoon vegetable oil (or melted butter, if you want)
cooking spray

Whisk the dry ingredients together in a bowl. In another bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, egg, oil, and pumpkin. Add the dry ingredients to the wet, incorporate it all in there. It will be a sorta thick batter. Heat a griddle pan or a nonstick skillet. Spray with cooking spray. Ladle out the batter and cook it until bubbly on one side, then flip and cook the other side. You know how to make pancakes. I won’t bore you with the details. Serve with butter and maple syrup! Or powdered sugar if you’re feeling fancy.
on the side there, is a piece of Erik’s homemade breakfast sausage. I am pleased to report “Operation Make Breakfast Sausage” a success. Erik found ground pork at the grocery, and he added in salt, pepper, garlic powder, sage, and maple syrup. Major thumbs up, ya’ll. It’s delicious.

Cooking Music: Fran Healy featuring Neko Case (::love::), Sing Me to Sleep

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Fall Comfort Food

  1. Ohhh I’ve been wanting to make pancake pancakes! I will try to make these this weekend.

  2. Of course I meant pumpkin* pancakes

    • rebekah

      😉 i know. seriously, do try them. they are marvelous. so much Fall spirit going on with the spices and the pumpkin and they’re tender if you use buttermilk

Leave a Reply

