a quickie

because I can’t believe I didn’t post this recipe last year when I first made it. I couldn’t even find the little magazine clipping from whence it came and had to search online for it. and because I still had one large, perfect sweet potato leftover from Thanksgiving and it makes spectacular quick bread.

Sweet Potato Quick Bread
recipe from Taste of Home*

You Need:
1 3/4 cups flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 teaspooon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon allspice
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups mashed sweet potatoes
1/2 cup canola oil
6 Tablespoons orange juice
3/4 cup chopped pecans (1/2 cup in the original, but I like pecans. these can be optional for you if you’d like)

Preheat the oven to 350. In a bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, allspice and cloves. In another bowl, whisk together the eggs, sweet potatoes, oil and orange juice. Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir together until everything is incorporated. Mix in the nuts. Spray a loaf pan (I used one large loaf pan and one of my small ones for this) and scrape your batter into them. Bake the loaves until a tester comes out clean and they’re nice and golden brown.
* I’m generally not a fan of the Taste of Home recipes but once in awhile their baked goods submissions are pretty tasty. This is one of those times. The bread is nicely spiced and very moist and since I only coarse mashed my sweet potatoes (because I’m lazy, ya’ll) there were nice chunks of them scattered throughout the bread.

Baking music: Mumford and Sons, Sigh No More

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

