feelings

I feel rebellious because I did not make the bed today. At all. This from a very prompt bed maker. Trust me when I say this is BIG NEWS.

I feel lazy because I changed out of pajamas for my evening shower just to put a different pair of pajamas back on post shower. No regular pants or a bra for me this Sunday, people. And it was awesome.

I feel excited because my other Cooper friend, Emily, now has a food blog. Foodie friends with blogs make me happy. Check her out here.

I feel giddy because I just watched Chris Colfer accept a Golden Globe and I do so love me some Kurt from Glee. So. Much. Kurt. Love. Seriously.

I feel very accomplished because I did not have to buy bread, hamburger buns, or English muffins at the grocery because I baked those items today.

I feel fancy because I took a lesson from the Son Dao school of beautiful plating and made our Saturday and Sunday night dinners look super pretty on the plate.

I feel perplexed because we eat a lot of rice up in this house. When I was a kid, potatoes were the go-to side; in my house, it’s rice. Plain rice, brown rice, Mexican rice. I’ve got a recipe for homemade rice-a-roni I’m looking forward to and Saturday night, I made what Joelen at What’s Cooking, Chicago calls Chilean Rice (she’s not sure what makes it Chilean and neither am I but it’s pretty tasty).

Chilean Rice
recipe from What’s Cooking, Chicago

You Need:

long grain white rice (I used a little less than 1/2 but little more than 1/4 cup because I did not want leftovers)
a pat of butter
a 1/2 Tablespoon or so of olive oil
chopped white onion (a Tablespoon or so)
diced red bell pepper (eh 1 1/2 Tablespoons or so)
diced green bell pepper (ditto)
a tablespoon or so of finely diced carrot
a garlic clove, finely minced
1 1/2 – 2 cups or so of chicken stock, heated to warm
salt, pepper
cilantro for garnish

Rinse the rice until the water coming through is mostly clear, drain. Heat the oil and butter together in a small pot. Add the rice to the pot and let it toast up. Stir in the onion, peppers, carrot, and garlic. Add in the chicken stock (there should be enough to cover the rice; if not add more). Salt and pepper for seasoning. Cook, covered, on medium-low until the liquid is absorbed, the rice is tender and fluffy. Garnish with cilantro, if you want. I served this alongside cumin and lime marinated skirt steak: I marinated skirt steak in lime for an hour, made a rub consisting of cumin, black pepper, salt, garlic cloves grated on a microplane, and finely chopped cilantro. I spread the rub all over the steaks, heated some oil in a large cast iron skillet, browned the steak on both sides. Let it rest on a cutting board for 10 minutes and slice against the grain. I’m not creative at all about how to eat this so we just ate it with corn tortillas.

6 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes

6 responses to “feelings

  1. this looks tasty! it was mostly potatoes for me growing up as well, and i too eat a lot more rice now. i attribute it to billy’s louisiana upbringing. i am looking forward to this rice-a-roni you speak of..

  2. jewelboxer

    i TRY to eat more rice now, but i’m married to an irish potato freak. seriously, he LOVES potatoes.

    very nicely plated, by the way. at first glance, i thought the purple was grilled onions. now i want your plates.

  3. rebekah

    rice-a roni is coming soon. i have to give mr. picky eater a break from the rice for a week or so.

    you know what, it’s weird because i too am a potato freak. yet i always make rice dishes. I have no idea why. erik says he got the plates at Bed Bath and Beyond. they come in a really nice set with matching mugs and deep bowls that match the dinner plates. the actual dinner plates have stripes but they’re unnecessarily HUGE. so we use the smaller plates for dinners, generally.

  4. rebekah

    now i have grilled onions on my mind. that is a good thing.

  5. I was so happy that Kurt won too. I love me some Glee.

    Again, it saddens me that we live so far away. Otherwise, I would totally be that friend that ‘accidentally’ crashes your place, like, all the time.

  6. rebekah

    hehehe and I would welcome you over each time with a plate of something fresh baked. I’d be nice to have a friend here.

Leave a Reply

