guest post: erik does dinner

I don’t mind being Erik’s sous chef if it means I don’t have to do the bulk of the dinner work (when I’m tired and not feeling like it). When I let him loose in the kitchen, something hearty and good to eat is the result. My chili is a work of impatience – thin, usually, instead of thick and rib-sticking like a good chili should be. Erik’s is busting at the seams with flavor, has a great, thick texture, and a lot of spice. All in all, chili at its finest.

Spicy Beer and Beef Chili  (serves 4)
recipe adapted from Allrecipes.com

You Need:
approximately 1 pound ground beef
1 medium sized white or yellow onion diced
1 large fresh tomato diced
9-10 ounces beer ( it takes about one and 3/4  beers to make this chilli, but only 9-10 ounces should end up in the pot)
1 can of prepared or 12-15 ounces cooked pinto beans
1 8 oz. can tomato sauce
1 tablespoon Worchestershire sauce
2 tablespoons Tabasco or equivalent hot sauce
3 tablespoons chili powder
1 fresh jalapeno or serano pepper seeded and finely diced
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon cumin
4 pinches of salt or to taste
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions:

In a large stock pot begin by crumbling and browning the ground beef. When the beef is about half way browned, add chopped onions and jalapeno; continue to cook until beef is thoroughly browned.  At this point add tomatoes, tomato sauce, beer and beans. Season with Worchestershire sauce, hot sauce, chili powder, garlic powder, cumin, salt and pepper.

Over medium high heat bring mixture to a near boil and then turn the heat to medium low and allow to simmer and thicken for 20-30 minutes. Garnish with green onion, shredded cheese and cilantro.


We ate his chili with cornbread using a brand new recipe Emily provided and boy, when I say I’m in love you best believe I’m in love L-U-V. This cornbread is fluffy, barely sweet (not overtly so like the mix tends to be sometimes) with a really lovely honeyed edge to it. I think I’m about ready to say bye to Jiffy… Go here for the recipe.

I adapted it a bit by using 1 1/4 cups of flour, 3/4 cup of cornmeal, and reducing the sugar to 1 Tablespoon. Just because I like to mess around with recipes.

3 Comments

Filed under Erik Does Dinner, soup, Uncategorized

3 responses to “guest post: erik does dinner

  1. hey! this is almost exactly how i make my chili, minus the fresh tomoato(because billy’s a boring weirdo). now i can’t decide whether to make gumbo as planned tonight, or chili!

    i don’t know if you saw the original recipe for that cornbread, but it actually called for 1/4 cup of sugar, and i just thought that sounded a little excessive. next time i think i’ll go down to 1 tbs as well.. or maybe none at all! the honey is where it’s at.

  2. rebekah

    Chili is awfully tasty – especially if it’s cold outside. I don’t know if it’s cold where you’re at, but if it is, this is really satisfying.

    1/4 cup of sugar does sound like a bit much. I do like a sweet edge to cornbread, but honey can be really sweet in itself. I loved this so much – I’ve had to sort of talk myself into cornbread over the years, but it’s good recipes like this that make me a fan of it.

  3. it’s definitely cold here, though not as cold as wyoming i’m sure. glad you liked the cornbread 🙂

Leave a Reply

