Menu Planning

I am not a sports fan. At all. Therefore, I could really care less about the Superbowl. I cannot even express the profound lack of giving a shit about this game. Erik is not a sports guy either. At all. He thinks they’re boring. I agree. However, I do quite enjoy all the “dude food” recipes for nachos, burgers, and general tasty snackage that go floating around the interwebs this time of year. Some of those recipes and ideas have completely invaded my menu for this week, along with other comfort foods that are guaranteed to get me through another wintery week of cold and snow.

Saturday: we had breakfast at one of our favorite places to eat here (and there are very few good places to eat). It was a treat, as we rarely eat breakfast on Saturdays. We usually just get up and get to work on our weekend plans. For dinner, I am making these awesome looking sliders with bacon and horseradish mayo. Erik’s not generally a “mayo on burgers” guy but I think the ratio of other ingredients to the mayo will be okay for him. And really, who doesn’t enjoy a teeny burger with bacon and cheese? Crazy people, that’s who.
Sunday: I found a lovely recipe for raspberry swirl sweet rolls for breakfast. For dinner, I’m making a recipe from the book Cocina de la Familia, the three days beef burritos. I’m using chuck roast, diced up, lots of spice and Shiner Bock to cook it.
Monday: Another breakfast recipe from the above mentioned book: Sonoran cheese omelets. They sound delightful – with onions and jalapenos and Monterey Jack cheese. For dinner, a recipe from the same book for pollo borracho (basically, chicken thighs cooked in beer).
Tuesday: I’ve been thinking about those yeasted Belgian waffles over and over again since I made them a couple weeks ago. I may make them again for breakfast. For dinner, I’m cooking black beans with boneless pork country ribs I need to use up in the crockpot.
Wednesday: I think we’ll end up just having an egg and sausage breakfast sandwich of some sort. For dinner, Pioneer Woman has a recipe up for fajita nachos and I want ’em. Bad.
Thursday: Another breakfast from the book above: fried eggs and yukon gold potatoes fried with jalapeno and onions. For dinner, I promised Erik a meatloaf as a trade off for Friday’s dinner.
Friday: General Tso’s chicken. And spring rolls. I need this meal. I deserve this meal, trust me.

As for my various weekend baking, etc., I decided for lunch dessert, I am making something called Texas Pecan Cake with Butter Pecan Glaze. It’s a bundt cake, which means I get to use my still new-ish bundt pan. I’m excited. I’m also making a small batch of heart shaped sugar cookies to mail to my niece for Valentine’s Day. All in all, this is promising to be a good week as far as meals and treats go.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Menu Planning

  1. i think i’d like to know more about those raspberry swirl sweetrolls.

  2. rebekah

    ah, yes. I used this recipe: http://www.delish.com/recipefinder/raspberry-sweet-rolls-recipe-fw0111

    They’re a little difficult to cut after they’re formed because the raspberries are left whole and frozen when you fill them, so they weren’t the prettiest things, but they are subtly sweet and very good. i needed more than the 4 1/4 cups of flour called for to get the dough to where is wasn’t super sticky and impossible to roll out.

  3. i like that. i may try it with blueberries.

  4. rebekah

    That’d be good too. I think it said you can sub most other frozen fruits. Blackberries might be nice, too.

Leave a Reply

