Eggs are awesome, Mondays not so much

Weekends never last as long as you want (or need) them to. Mine are sacred to me; when you’re caught up in the 8 to 5, stuck in an office five days a week thing, you tend to really treasure the devil-may-care attitude which is perfectly acceptable to have on a weekend. Since Saturdays are designated food shopping/other chores that force us to mingle outside with all the rest of the unwashed masses, Sunday is generally our lock ourselves in at home and stuff our faces day. I cook a big breakfast slowly, taking over an hour if I really feel like it. Then we spend another hour at the table eating it. It’s nice and if you don’t do that kind of thing, I highly recommend it to you as a perfectly lovely form of weekend relaxation.

So when Monday creeps up on me, it puts me in a bad mood. I don’t feel relaxed in the morning. I feel rushed and I feel like dragging my heels because I don’t like sitting in my office. I don’t want to go outside and look at all the snow. I was determined to capture a little of my Sunday morning for breakfast today and this omelet fit that perfectly. It felt like one of our Sunday breakfasts without monumental effort or mess. I chopped my onions and jalapenos the day before (I chop a lot and store them in separate plastic containers to use throughout the week, so I’m not constantly chopping up produce all week), pre-grated the amount of cheese I needed, and just had to warm up the flour tortillas I made on Sunday. It was a nice plate to look at and something delicious to start off the week.

Sonoran Cheese Omelets
recipe from Cocina de la Familia

You Need:
bacon strips
white onion, diced finely
jalapeno, seeded and deveined if you want, diced finely
There are diced tomatoes in the original recipe along with the onion and jalapeno. I left them out, but feel free to add them back in if you’d like.
butter
salt, pepper
eggs
grated Monterey Jack cheese
scallions and cilantro, for garnish

Cook your bacon strips until crisp on both sides. Set aside on a paper towel lined plate to drain. Evaluate your bacon grease situation. Is there at least a Tablespoons of oil in the pan? If so, good. Leave it. If there’s more than that, take some of that grease out. I save mine in a container for making refried beans. You do what you want with yours. In the bacon grease pan, saute your onions and jalapenos until the onions are translucent. Scrape these into a bowl and set aside. Scramble two eggs in another bowl. Wipe your pan clean and set it back on medium heat. Put a Tablespoon of butter into the pan; let it melt and kind of foam up. Scatter some of your onions and jalapenos into the pan with the butter.  Pour the eggs in, tilting and swirling to make sure the eggs cover the entire bottom of the pan and all the onions and jalapenos. Season the eggs with salt and pepper. Cover with a lid, lower the heat a bit, and let this firm up. Uncover it halfway through cooking and lift up a side to let the runny egg on top slide under, so everything gets cooked. Uncover the pan and sprinkle some of the cheese on one side of the omelet. Fold like you normally would and move it onto a plate to finish folding it up. Repeat all that for as many omelets as you plan on making. Sprinkle sliced scallions and cilantro on top of the omelets. Serve with the crisped bacon and flour tortillas, if you want.

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Eggs are awesome, Mondays not so much

  1. Well, starting my day with a delicious omelet like this would surely put me at ease. YUM!

  2. rebekah

    omelets are always a Good Thing. 🙂 plus I’m training myself to enjoy spicy things more so I’ve been putting jalapenos and stuff like that in almost everything. It’s delicious and woke me right up!

  3. yummy way to begin every morning!! love heat with my eggs!!

    sweetlife

Leave a Reply

