guilty pleasures

1. certain Lady Gaga songs
2. Glee (even though lately it’s been kind of meh. But I’m nothing if not loyal and even though they tried to torture me by including Justin Bieber songs in the last episode, I’ll probably keep watching it).
3. some fast foods, especially ones I don’t have access to. I don’t care if Taco Bell is mystery meat and not actual meat, I like a good supreme taco once in awhile. I also rather enjoy a Long John Silver’s hushpuppy. I have not had one in many years. There’s nothing wrong with a nice ball of fried dough dipped in tartar sauce. Once in awhile.

So a few weeks ago, I got a craving for fried catfish and hushpuppies. I can’t sate it exactly because I can’t get catfish here. I can, however, scour the internet for a copy cat recipe of those hushpuppies, buy some cod at the kind of expensive fish store in town that flies in their fresh fish (it’s literally my only option for decent fishy stuff), and nom the hell out of it. So I did. Erik’s a seafood fan and instead of plain old cod, he wanted to try out a piece of ahi tuna. I tried a little bite and I was shocked that I thought it was really delicious. I make fun of Erik for being picky about some things, but seafood is something I’ve been really slow to get into. This tuna though – flavor explosion. Seriously. He cooked it rare, which I’m normally not into with seafood, but it was really, really good. And yes I most certainly did point out to him that his marinade included every single ingredient he bitches about when I make stir fry’s. He better not complain next time I make stir fry. Just saying.

Seared Ahi Tuna
recipe from Simply Recipes

You Need:
an ahi tuna steak
2 Tablespoons sesame oil
2 Tablespoons soy sauce
1 Tablespoon grated ginger
a clove of garlic, minced
a teaspoon lime juice

Mix everything together and coat both sides of the tuna steak in the marinade. Cover and refrigerate for at least an hour. Heat a teaspoon and a half of olive oil in a pan (we used a regular non stick) until it gets pretty hot. Sear the tuna for a couple of minutes per side. Slice into um, slices. Eat!

and bonus recipe!

Long John Silver Copycat Hushpuppies
recipe from THE INTERNET

You Need:
1 cup self rising flour*
3/4 cup cornmeal
1/4 of an onion, finely diced
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 egg
milk

*I don’t generally keep self rising flour on hand. I found a substitution on the internet that says if you want to essentially make your own, for each cup of all purpose flour, add 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. So that’s what I did with this recipe. I think it helped a lot with the way the hushpuppies puffed up.

Mix the first 7 ingredients together. Add milk a little at a time until the mixture is not too thick, not too thin. Heat enough oil for deep frying to about 375. Drop dough by tablespoonfuls into the hot oil and fry until deep golden brown. Remove with a slotted spoon and drain.

mmm, puffed balls of deep fried dough.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “guilty pleasures

  1. I agree with 1 and 2. Um, I still haven’t watched the latest Glee because I don’t care for the Beiber.

    As for 3 – I had Sonic this weekend and it was amazing! So good!

    Most things deep fried taste good, I don’t care what anybody says!

    • rebekah

      I fast forwarded through most of it, to be honest 😦

      I haven’t had Sonic in years. I do love their cherry lime slushy thingies. I know my brother used to be addicted to their breakfast burritos.

  2. jewelboxer

    i hate long john silver tartar sauce, but i will eat the shit out of their fried fish. sometimes.

    sometimes, i kinda want a taco bell soft taco supreme too, but it never ends well. i think it just makes me nostalgic for high school (which is funny, because i didn’t really like high school).

    seared tuna…YUM.

    • rebekah

      dude, I made my own tartar sauce with dill pickles and mayo and lemon juice. It was pretty delightful.

      nothing makes me nostalgic for high school. i didn’t like high school. or rather, i didn’t like myself in high school. i think the experience would have been a lot better had i been less uptight.

      anyway, yes, seared tuna. delicious and i never in a million years thought i’d think so. sesame oil on fish is just …. awesome.

Leave a Reply

