a not so quick quickie

I’m totally going to change my blog name to “want some cheese with that whine?” If someone were to do a cursory run through of this whole thing, they’d probably find that it’s almost totally about weather, how cold I am, and other boring things I like to complain about. I’m honestly tired of asking people about the weather or mentioning it but I can’t seem to stop myself! It’s a weird, weird obsession! You know those awkward people at social gatherings who talk about mundane things like the weather just to have something to talk about? I’m one of those except I’m genuinely interested in the state of the weather. I truly don’t know what’s wrong with me. I do, however, know what’s right with me and that’s these sandwiches. Garlic mayo, shredded beef, delicious focaccia. YES PLEASE.

Italian Shredded Beef Sandwiches*

You Need:
chuck roast (I used half of a small-ish one)
Italian seasoning (I use the McCormick brand that comes in a grinder)
onion powder
salt, pepper
red chili flakes
half a yellow onion, cut in slices
a few garlic cloves, smashed
olive oil
beef broth, water, or beer
mayo, a couple Tablespoons (you know what’s weird about our mayo? At home, it’s called Hellman’s – you know the jingle right? Bring out the Hellman’s and bring out the beeeeessssst – but here, it’s just called Best Foods, or something odd like that. It’s. So. Weird. They call Dreyer’s brand stuff by a different name here too.)
a couple small garlic cloves, pressed or if you don’t have one, do like me and just grate the cloves (carefully) with your microplane
red wine vinaigrette (I use a modified, halved version of this recipe when I want a truly quick vinaigrette – sub real fine minced garlic for the garlic powder, it’s yummy)
sliced tomatoes
pepperocini slices
focaccia, cut in half and toasted (I made a whole sheet of this recipe and ate a quarter of it right out of the oven. I’m not sorry.)

Rub your roast all over with salt, pepper, onion powder, chili flakes, and the Italian seasonings. Layer your onions and your smashed garlic cloves in the bottom of a crock pot. Heat some olive oil in a skillet. Brown your roast on all sides. Place it in the crock pot on top of the onions and garlic. Pour in beef broth or water or beer (I didn’t cover the meat entirely – just enough so the meat wouldn’t dry out while cooking). Cover and cook on low for 5 to 6 hours, until the meat is very tender and shredd-able.

For the garlic mayo, just mix that mayonnaise with the pressed/grated garlic. There. Garlic mayo. Easy, man. To assemble the sandwiches, spread said mayo on your toasted bread. Top with the shredded beef. Put some pepperocinis and some tomato slices on the meat, drizzle some of the vinaigrette on that, place the other slice of focaccia on top, and nom that bitch.

*there’s probably nothing really Italian about these :/

6 Comments

Filed under sandwiches

6 responses to “a not so quick quickie

  1. Katie

    I want to come eat at your house!!! That sounds so yummy. I don’t particularly like mayo (neither does Zach), but I could make an exception for this recipe!

  2. Katie

    I want to come eat at your house! I am not particularly a fan of mayo (neither is Zach), but I think I can make an exception for this recipe!

  3. Katie

    Oops, didn’t mean to double comment.

  4. rebekah

    You know what, I never ate regular mayo in my life until recently because I hated it, but for some reason now I like it. It helps if you add things to it – like the crushed garlic, pepper, cayenne, other types of herbs or seasonings. It’s like a blank canvas for sandwich spread deliciousness. Honestly. With this sandwich, I think you would get just as much flavor with just the vinaigrette or regular Italian dressing, even. Either way, it’s messy and yummy and really there’s nothing better than those two adjectives. πŸ™‚

  5. This sammich sounds really frickin’ awesome. I mean, the garlic mayo alone rocks my world…but add shredded beef and killer bread. Ahhh. Why, oh why can’t I have one right this minute?

  6. rebekah

    Garlic in anything makes me the happiest girl on the planet, but I think I’m going to make some more of that garlic mayo and keep it in the fridge for sandwiches indefinitely. This is total perfect comfort food especially paired with a nice, cold beer πŸ˜€ and it’s messy to boot. you need to get you one of these!

Leave a Reply

