i request the highest of fives for this one

So I was yacking at Girlichef in her comments not too long ago about how great bacon is in waffles; I think I was specifically referencing something from Joy the Baker that involved adding chopped up bits of crisped bacon to the waffle batter and baking it up. She said something that utterly blew my mind: she has crisped bacon slices and placed entire slices on the waffle iron, then spooned in batter and baked the waffles. I’ve been making King Arthur Flour’s Belgian Yeast Waffles and they are more savory than sweet, to me. I had the brilliant idea of combining the whole “bacon slices baked into the waffles” idea and then topping the bacon waffles with sunny side eggs. I thought it was so good, I did this all morning:

Seriously, I feel the need to be congratulated on such a good breakfast.

Belgian Yeast Waffles
recipe from King Arthur Flour

You Need:
1 1/2 cups lukewarm milk
6 Tablespoons melted butter
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 large eggs
2 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons instant yeast (or regular active dry, and dissolve it in the milk-butter mixture before adding all the other ingredients)

In a large bowl (big enough to allow for bubbling and rising), combine all the ingredients and stir until it comes together. It’s totally fine if it’s lumpy and such. Cover with plastic wrap and leave at room temperature for an hour. You can either cook the waffles after the hour, or refrigerate them and cook them the next day.

Egg & Bacon Waffle Stacks
Recipe Part 2

You Need:
bacon slices, cut in half
eggs
yeast waffle batter

In a large pan (do I really need to tell you that?) cook your bacon until crisp, drain on a paper towel lined plate. Heat your waffle iron and coat the inside with cooking spray. Lay two strips of bacon in each side of the iron: I have a waffle iron that makes four square waffles at a time. So I just placed two bacon slices in each space. Spoon your batter over the bacon. I eyeballed mine and still had batter leakage from the iron, so I can’t really say how much batter you put in. The King Arthur recipe suggests 2/3 to 3/4 cupfuls of batter. Depends on how much your iron can hold without spillage, really. The batter itself is thin-nish, so keep that in mind. Cook your waffles until golden brown. While they’re cooking, prepare your eggs how you like them: scrambled, poached, fried. We did ours sunny, like we like them. Lightly butter your bacon waffles and top with an egg. Then come high five me because seriously, it’s that good.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “i request the highest of fives for this one

  1. Katie

    This recipe will be tried this week. Zach loves waffles, I have been craving fried eggs, and who doesn’t love bacon??? Yum, yum.

  2. rebekah

    I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. 🙂 The original recipe adds a little sweetness to the waffle batter by adding in 2 or 3 Tablespoons of maple syrup (the real kind), so if you wanted a complete sweet & salty breakfast experience, you can sweeten up the waffles that way. I want to make these for breakfast everyday for the REST OF MY LIFE.

  3. Joy Villarreal

    OMG! I need to make these for the girlfriend very very soon!

  4. rebekah

    dude, YES. if she likes bacon and waffles, she will love these.

Leave a Reply

