a quickie

I did a bad, bad thing people…

I beer battered fries. And served them with tiny cheeseburgers. And I’m not sorry. I mean, I might be later after the inevitable lecture by my doctor on why I shouldn’t eat things like this, but right now: totally not sorry.

Beer Battered Cajun Fries
recipe by The Kitchn

You need:
russet potatoes (I probably used a pound of potatoes. I washed mine really well then cut them into 1/4 inch strips leaving the peel on)
approximately 1 cup flour (I eyeballed so I might have ended up using a bit more, I don’t know)
1/2 Tablespoon cajun spice (I found some at the grocery store!)
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon pepper
Beer (I only had a can of miller high life at my disposal so I used that despite my feelings about miller products)

Soak the sliced potatoes in a ice water for a couple of hours, or overnight. Mix your flour with your spices in a large bowl. Gradually add in enough beer to make a thick batter. Maybe you’ll use the whole can, maybe not. Place some oil, 3 inches of it – canola or peanut is good for frying- in a large cast iron pot or dutch oven. Then get ready for dipping. (Just a note: the original recipe, which is of course linked above, has you dipping the fries once, then frying, then dipping again and frying a second time. We got by just fine with one dip.) I patted my fries dry, then started the dipping process, submerging them in batches into the batter, letting the excess drip off. While you’re dipping, heat your oil to about 350. Fry the dipped potatoes in batches, until they’re deep golden brown. Drain on paper towel lined plates.

serve with tiny burgers. they don’t do anything particularly good for my waistline, but they certainly improved my mood, I’ll be honest.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

