Menu Planning

My grocery bills have been inordinately high the past few weeks. I blame the fact that I’m totally out of ideas for menu making and I haven’t been too creative in using the things I have on hand. Oh well. I’m not particularly overexcited about what we’re eating this week. We still have a ton of beef in the freezer and I need better ideas for what to do with pork and pork chops. Meh.

Saturday
Dinner: beer braised boneless country pork ribs, macaroni and cheese, corn

Sunday
Breakfast: eggs, scallion potato pancakes, those butter dips I never got around to making last week or the week before
Dinner: beef bourguignon, mashed potatoes

Monday
Breakfast: orange French toast
Dinner: hot dogs, mixed vegetables, some kind of potato

Tuesday
Breakfast: breakfast tacos
Dinner: pork chops (sigh), buttered parsley potatoes, beets

Wednesday
Breakfast: egg and Canadian bacon breakfast sandwiches
Dinner: chicken parmesan (with linguine, because I need to use that linguine)

Thursday
Breakfast: poached eggs and bacon, apple butter swirl bread toast
Dinner: crockpot shredded beef tacos, rice, beans

Friday
Breakfast: scrambled eggs
Dinner: lemon pepper chicken wings, buttermilk onion strings

For my baking, I’m making apple butter swirl bread, buns for the hot dogs, and Erik wants a chocolate bundt cake.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Menu Planning

  1. dude, i totally feel you on the lack of ideas and high grocery bill. i have a few pork recipes bookmarked from Simply Recipes. she seems to always have something yummy and inexpensive in the ‘pork’ section.

  2. rebekah

    that’s a good idea – i have her bookmarked too. I think I need to pick out my favorite food blogs, then pillage their recipe archives along with a list of what’s in my deep freeze and pantry. the only problem with that is that what i have in the deep freeze is a lot of steak. A lot. Of. Steak.

  3. that’s funny. my freezer is full of chicken for some reason. too bad we don’t live closer to eachother. i would totally make you trade me some steak for some chicken.

  4. rebekah

    i would gladly make that trade. i have to keep erik away from the meat section when we go grocery shopping because buying steak has become some weird obsession with him. i also wish they sold more varieties of pork.

Leave a Reply

