where have you been all my life?

File this under stuff I’m super sad I never knew existed until recently. Because I’ve wasted a lot of time not eating these and that’s either a very good thing according to my diet, or a bad thing according to my tastebuds. These are easy and very, very delicious. I ran across this different way of making biscuits over at The Kitchn and was skeptical – you don’t cut the butter into the biscuit dough. Instead you melt it and bake your dough on top. Somehow, it works. And it works very, very well. These are called “Butter Dips” but I’m going to call them “Butter Bombs” because that’s what they are – soft, ultra fluffy little bombs of butter.

Butter Bombs
recipe from TheKitchn via Big Red Kitchen

You Need:
1/2 stick of butter (I would seriously consider using unsalted butter here and if you don’t keep it on hand like I don’t, I’d either cut out the salt from the dough entirely, or at least cut the amount way, way down)
1 1/4 cups flour
2 teaspoons sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt (again, this much salt combined with salted butter is not such a good idea to me)
2/3 cup buttermilk

Heat the oven to 450. Cut your butter into pieces and scatter them on the bottom of a 8×8 baking dish. When the oven has heated, place the pan inside and melt the butter. In a bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt if you’re using it. Stir in the buttermilk just until everything comes together. Spread the dough over the melted butter with either floured hands or lightly with a bench scraper (the bench scraper worked much better for me than my floured hands). The dough won’t look like it will fit the bottom of the pan (it looks like there’s not enough of it) but it works, trust me. Use that bench scraper (or a large, sharp knife) to cut the biscuits into 9 square pieces. Pop in the oven and bake until golden – about 10 minutes. Serve with honey or jam.

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

4 responses to “where have you been all my life?

  1. i’m totally doing it.

  2. rebekah

    you will totally not regret it. they’re delicious.

  3. I love anything with the word butter. Mmm

  4. rebekah

    ditto that, lady. butter makes everything better.

Leave a Reply

