Sunday Suppers

Yes, I know. It’s Thursday. I’ve been a little off-kilter all week.

Our Sunday suppers are getting less grandiose, I’ve noticed. I’ve not been that interested in making huge, complicated meals. The weekends go by so fast and I already spend hours in the kitchen doing prep work for the week, or baking. Not that I mind actually, I just notice that if I’m hyperactive in the kitchen then my weekends go by that much faster. I’d like to just sit on the couch in front of the fire and just stare off into space. Instead of staring off into the clock that sits in front of my desk at work. There’s a distinct difference between that kind of space-staring and the kind you can do at home on your couch in pajamas. It’s a better kind of space-staring. Especially if you have good, old fashioned comfort food a la the meat and potatoes variety sitting in your belly. It’s a nice way to spend a Sunday, trust me.

Beef Bourguignon
recipe from The Comfort of Cooking*

You Need:
boneless stew beef, cut into cubes (I used chuck, of course)
couple cups of dry red wine (I used a cabernet)
a couple Tablespoons olive oil
small yellow or white onion, chopped
a large carrot, or a couple medium ones, rough chopped
couple stalks of celery, chopped
garlic clove, minced
chopped fresh thyme
fresh ground pepper
Salt
some strips of bacon, cut into pieces (lardons, if you’re fancy)
flour (couple tablespoons)
mushrooms (I forgot these)
chopped parsley

Place the meat in a bowl. Add in: the wine, olive oil, chopped onion, carrot, celery, garlic, thyme, pepper, and salt. Stir it altogether. Cover the bowl and refrigerate for at least an hour, up to overnight. Transfer the beef (only the beef) to another plate. Reserve the veggies and the marinade separately. Pat your meat dry. Heat up a dutch oven and brown your bacon. Remove the bacon to another plate. Evaluate your leftover bacon fat situation: if there are at least a couple tablespoons of fat in the pan, good, if not, add some more oil to make up the rest. Pat your beef dry; brown it in batches in the bacon fat. Remove the meat back to a plate. Add in the reserved veg and cook til slightly browned. Stir in the flour and cook that for a couple minutes. Stir in the marinade, then the beef and bacon. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat, cover and cook until the beef is tender, 1-1 1/2 hours. If you do better than me and remember your mushrooms, add them in and continue cooking until they’re tender. Serve with mashed potatoes – sprinkle the beef with parsley, and add salt and pepper.

*as always, if you want specific amounts of things, please visit the linked blog above. I just can’t be bothered to measure things, people. I just can’t.

Cooking music: Jakob Dylan, Women and Country

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

