a quickie

just because I had a half jar of Vermont-made organic apple butter that needed using up and I like bread.

Apple Butter Swirl Bread
recipe from Serious Eats

You Need:
1 cup warm water
2 Tablespoons honey
2 1/4 teaspoons yeast (active dry or instant, whichever)
3 1/2 cups bread flour (I think at most I only ended up using a scant 2 cups, but again, I’m baking at a different altitude and weather conditions)
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
4 Tablespoons butter, room temperature
1/2 cup apple butter (someone in the recipe’s comments said they were trying this with pear butter and I think that would be lovely, too)

Combine the water, honey, and yeast and stir together. Let it stand a few minutes until the yeast is bubbly. Add enough of the flour to make a cohesive dough: mine started to look a little dry and shaggy after 2 cups, so I stopped at that point, then added in the salt and butter and mixed everything together. If the addition of the butter makes the dough too wet and sticky, add in flour a little a time until you get the right consistency (remember: too much flour makes dense bread). If you’re a regular bread baker, you’ll know what it’s supposed to look like. Knead the dough until it’s smooth and elastic. Place in a greased bowl, turning the dough over to grease the entire ball. Cover with plastic wrap or a towel and let it sit in a warm spot until doubled in size (an hour or so).

Grease an 8 inch loaf pan. On a lightly floured surface, dump out your dough and press it into an 8×16 inch rectangle. Spread your apple butter out over the dough, leaving an inch border around the rectangle. Roll up the dough, jelly roll style, lightly pinching the seams and the ends of the bread to neaten things up. Place in your loaf pan (seam side down), cover, then let rise until doubled again for another hour or so. (I think I went for more than an hour.) Lightly slash the top of the bread with a sharp knife. Preheat your oven to 325 and bake the bread until it sounds hollow when tapped and is a nice golden brown color. Let it cool completely before slicing it up.

Erik likes his toasted very lightly. I’m a dark toast sort of girl, myself.

Baking music: Lissie, Catching a Tiger

4 Comments

Filed under fun with yeast

4 responses to “a quickie

  1. lovely bread, I purchaed apple butter for my girls..they hated it..figures!! but at least now I have a recipe to use up the jar..lol

    sweetlife
    have a great weekend

  2. rebekah

    It’s not something I ordinarily eat either – my mom used to buy some brand I don’t remember when I was a kid and I thought it was the nastiest thing on earth. This stuff I got from Vermont is much, much better and combined with bread, it’s like cinnamon raisin bread without the raisins.

    You have a great weekend, yourself! I just realized it was Friday and that makes me a lot happier!

  3. Oh yum, loves me some applebutter, so I know I’d love this. I’m a dark toast girl, too. 😀

  4. rebekah

    it’s a really nice breakfast bread. i was pleasantly surprised.

    dark toast is the only way to go, i mean, light toast just defeats the whole purpose of toasting, yes?

Leave a Reply

