the proverbial cake loving fat kid

That is me. I love cake. It’s the best part about birthdays, in my opinion. Erik tried to tell me he didn’t want cake for his birthday but I threw a fit because dammit, what good is a birthday without cake? I tried out two new recipes for Erik and his sister’s cakes this year and they turned out really well. The scraps tasted delicious, at least. We didn’t get to cut into them because we all got milkshakes from the burger drive in for our celebration dinner. We were all on an extreme sugar high. (But I fully plan on having cake for dessert for the rest of the week.)  Both cakes gave me a good excuse to use up ingredients I needed to use up and to do my favorite thing ever which is browning butter. All in all, great birthday cake success.

Mexican Chocolate Sour Cream Cake
Recipe from Amanda’s Cookin’

You Need:
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon allspice
1 1/2 cups dark brown sugar
1/4 cup butter, softened
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
one disc and two triangles of Mexican chocolate (I used Ibarra brand)
1 cup sour cream
3/4 cup milk

Preheat the oven to 350, grease and flour (or spray with baking spray) two standard size round cake pans. Chop your chocolate. In a double boiler (I just used a small metal bowl set over a pan), heat the Mexican chocolate over simmering water until it melts. It’s going to be grainy and thick, not all smooth and melty like regular chocolate. So if it looks weird, don’t freak. It’s fine. Mix together your dry ingredients in a bowl. Set aside. Cream the butter and brown sugar together. Add an egg, beat it well. Add the other egg and the vanilla, continue beating. Mix in your cooled chocolate and mix well. Alternately add the dry ingredients with the milk and sour cream. I mixed the milk and sour cream together in their own bowl to make this easier. Beat the batter until everything is incorporated. Divide the batter between the two pans. I always set my cake pans on top of rimmed baking sheets in case of spillover. Sometimes I’m not so good at judging how much batter to put into the pans to avoid spillage. Anyway, bake the cakes until a tester comes out clean, about 25-30 minutes. Turn the cakes out onto a cooling rack and let them cool completely before frosting. There is a recipe for icing along with this cake, but I truly did not enjoy it. It was too, too sweet, and you couldn’t add less than the amount of powdered sugar called for because then the icing was too thin and not suitable for using. I’d skip it and just use your favorite buttercream, which is what I ended up doing. For Erik’s cake, I colored and rolled out some fondant (Satin Ice brand – not Wilton. Wilton’s fondant tastes like puke to me) and made it in the shape of a bottlecap from his favorite beer. It’s not the greatest looking thing ever, but you can tell what it is, he got a kick out of it, and that’s all that matters.


 

 

 

 

 

 

The cake is less of a chocolate cake and more of a really warm, spice cake. I think a good cinnamon buttercream would be good with it. I just used a standard frosting recipe because all I needed was to fill and crumb coat it.

Brown Sugar Brown Butter Cake
recipe from Hot Polka Dot

You Need:
1 stick butter
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 1/2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup whole milk

In a small, light colored pan, cook the butter, swirling occasionally, until it foams up and turns golden brown. DON’T BURN THE BUTTER. You can’t step away from the stove while browning butter. Brown butter = good and tasty. Black butter = evil. Scrape it into a bowl and let it cool and harden up a bit in the fridge – not solid, just enough to resemble soft butter. Preheat the oven to 375. Butter and grease one standard size round cake pan. I only got two layers out of mine because I used a much smaller Wilton cake pan – we didn’t need two full size birthday cakes. Would have been cake overload, man. Cream your browned butter and sugar together. Add in the eggs and vanilla, beat well. In a separate bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients. Alternately add the dry stuff to the egg-butter mixture with the milk. Beat just enough to fully incorporate everything. Scrape the batter into the pan. Bake until a tester comes out clean, like 25-30 minutes. Let cool completely before frosting.

Laci’s cake was inspired by the weather. I looked outside at the dark skies, heavy clouds, snow, and thought I want a freaking spring cake. So spring it was. Everything on the cake is buttercream except for the flowers, which were stamped out of fondant with cutters. The flower centers are silver dragees, because Chevelle (my niece) loves “the BBs.”

2 Comments

Filed under Sweet Tooth

2 responses to “the proverbial cake loving fat kid

  1. Both cakes look awesome! So glad you like my recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

