Breakfasting

Breakfast is, forever and always, my favorite meal of the day. It’s also the one meal that features endless repeats of the same variation: carb (usually in the form of toast), eggs, breakfast meat (bacon or sausage or canadian bacon if I’m feeling fancy). On Sundays, we mix it up and add potatoes and other vegetable-y accouterments (chopped scallions, usually). The sameness with my breakfasts is okay with me in a way that sameness with dinners and lunches is not. I’m not sure why.

Anyway, so I have a little over a month before I have to have my annual check up and naturally I’m panicking about my winter weight gain (I don’t want my doctor to be mad at me) so I’m furiously adding vegetables to things. It doesn’t help much to do that when you fry said thing in oil, of course, but what the hell. These hash browns I made on Sunday morning were delicious. And topped with farm fresh eggs. If I have to, I’ll just distract my doctor with farm fresh eggs and maybe then she won’t notice how fat I still am. That’s a good plan, I think I’ll stick with that.

Garden Hash Browns
recipe adapted from Williams Sonoma

You Need:
zucchini, shredded coarsely with your box grater (for four patties I used about a 1/4 of a medium zucchini)
carrot, shredded (I used half a medium carrot)
russet potatoes, shredded (I used 2)
chopped parsley
chopped scallions
salt and pepper
butter
oil for frying

Put your grated zucchini into a small colander. Toss with some salt and let it sit for 30 minutes. Squeeze out the liquid. Mix in a bowl with the carrots. Grate your potatoes into a large colander lined with paper towels or a kitchen towel. Squeeze the grated potatoes to get most of the liquid off of them. Toss the dried potatoes in with the zucchini and carrot. Add the chopped parsley and scallions. Season with salt and pepper and mix together. In a large nonstick skillet, heat a Tablespoon or so of butter and some oil together. Place small mounds of the potato mixture in the pan and fry on both sides until crispy and browned. Drain on paper towel lined plates. Serve with eggs on top of the hash browns and with your favorite breakfast meat. The proper amounts of this recipe are located at the link above.

cooking music: Neko Case, Live in Austin, TX

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Breakfasting

  1. mr pickypants

    i had some hashbrowns and bacon sunday! forgot to buy eggs though….but yea. It was really good. we had small ham steaks to go with it…not anything like what you’ve got there, but it was good! 🙂

  2. rebekah

    you had ham AND bacon at the same time? holy pork explosion, Batman.

  3. I grew up in Scotland and we are known for our breakfasts, I too think its the best meal of the day so why not go for it and sit the cereal to the side for a couple of days…..

  4. rebekah

    I heartily agree – breakfast foods are the best, in my opinion. What kind of breakfasts do they do in Scotland? Are they big, homey ones?

  5. jewelboxer

    egg and meat for breakfast is always okay with me. it is indeed a bit strange how okay we are with that when it would not be as okay for lunches and dinners.

    i love the sound of these, and i’ll probably have to do some this weekend. with poached eggs and cheesy sauce.

  6. rebekah

    YES. I like the way your mind works. Cheese would be magnificent on these. Poached eggs would be better than fried ones, to go along with the whole “vegetables in my breakfast” thing. 😀

    The original recipe for these uses an egg as a binder, but I left all that out and just made them like I would regular hash browns. I don’t know how big of a difference it made, to be honest.

Leave a Reply

