a quickie

Sopapillas! I love them! I love them so much I want to take them behind the middle school and get them pregnant! (I love 30 Rock references, too. Obviously).

Sopapillas
recipe from Homesick Texan (the following is my halved version, it yielded perhaps 9 or 10 sopapillas. For her full version that makes 18, visit the link)

You need:

1 3/4 teaspoons yeast (as always, I use instant)
3/4 cup warm water
1/2 Tablespoon butter, melted and cooled
1/2 Tablespoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups flour (I actually think I used a little less)
oil for frying
cinnamon sugar mixed together
honey

Mix the yeast, water and sugar. Let it sit for a few minutes. Add the butter and salt. Mix in the flour a little at a time until you get a soft, only slighty tacky dough. Knead until it’s elastic. Set the dough in an oiled bowl, turn to oil all sides of it. Cover and let it rise until doubled in size. Once doubled, dump it onto a floured surface. Roll into a 1/4 inch thick rectangle. Cut the rectangle into squares. Cut those squares diagonally into triangles. Meanwhile, heat up enough oil for frying (I didn’t do the specified 3 inches – I used maybe an inch or so worth). When the oil is up to 375, fry two triangles at a time. They will puff up immediately when you slip them into the oil. Fry for a minute or so on each side, until deep golden brown on both sides. Drain on a paper towel lined platter. Sprinkle with cinnamon sugar. Eat them immediately, drizzled with honey (mmm, honey. I love it so much I want to take it behind the middle school and get it pregnant! Okay, that’s enough of that).

Cooking music: Joanna Newsom, Ys


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

