a quickie

Why did I ever think it was totally okay to eat store bought salad dressing? Because when I think about it, everything about it is wrong: the viscous texture, the wan flavors, the fact that whizzing some up in your blender or food processor or simply by hand with a whisk is just as quick as opening a bottle and way more satisfying. Also: this foray into caesar salad dressing has made me an anchovy paste convert. Before this week you’d never have caught me buying anything anchovy related but I’m glad I did because now I want salad a lot just to eat this delightful dressing.

Eggless Caesar Salad Dressing*
recipe from Epicurious

You Need:
4 Tablespoons mayo
a clove of garlic
zest and juice of 1 lemon
2 Tablespoons anchovy paste
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
2 teaspoons worcestershire sauce
black pepper
3 Tablespoons olive oil
some salt, to taste

Combine everything in your food processor and whiz until smooth. Taste for seasoning: the original recipe does not call for salt but I ended up adding a little bit. I made just a simple salad with mushrooms, tomatoes and romaine to drizzle this on (the salad went with our dinner of spaghetti and garlic bread. We are so garlicked up this evening it’s not even funny. We might have to open up windows. It’s garlic breath stenchy up in here).

*I specifically sought out an egg-free version of the dressing because I feel squicky about eating raw eggs. If I had some more of those eggs that just barely plopped out of a neighbor’s chickens, perhaps I’d have rethought my squickiness but I’m generally not wild about eating grocery store eggs raw. That said, in this application you don’t even taste the fact that there’s mayo in it, so if you aren’t generally a fan of mayo, it’s okay to make this because you don’t even notice its presence.


Cooking music: Gaga. Judas. I can’t get it out of my head. It’s not even that great of a song (Bad Romance is the best Gaga song in my opinion. I would say it’s the only Gaga song I like just to protect my hipster street cred, but I admit it: I downloaded Telephone. And Just Dance. and Poker Face.) but since I saw the video over on Jezebel, it’s all “Judas! Jud-a-as” over and over :/

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

