breakfast for dinner

(screencap from this tumblr)

It’s a wonderful, magical dinnertime meal of pure happiness is what eggs for dinner is, sweet Brittany.

I’m a huge advocate of breakfast for dinner, especially if it involves steak. Steak and eggs is very much an indulgence to me and mostly because I’m not generally one to mix those types of foodstuffs together. It’s like when we went to that diner in Salina, Utah on last year’s vacation: Erik ate a huge plate of eggs, biscuits and gravy, hash browns, and fried boneless pork chops. That’s bizarre to me, though he claims it was delicious. Tonight’s meal, a hash with steak, eggs and biscuits, was extremely filling and damn tasty. The whole thing screams “Sunday Special Breakfast” but it came together a lot quicker than I thought it would. Tasty and fast? If that’s not the winningest combo ever, I just don’t know what is.

Steak Hash and Eggs
recipe adapted from Williams-Sonoma

You Need:
a couple large russet potatoes, peeled and cut into small cubes
about half a yellow onion, diced
a quarter of a red bell pepper, cut into small cubes
1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped into small pieces
a garlic clove, finely minced
steak, seasoned with salt and pepper and either pan cooked or grilled however you like your steak, then sliced thinly (I used a small sirloin and cooked it on the grill, rare)
a couple Tablespoons vegetable oil
4 eggs, cooked how you like them (we like ’em sunny in this house)

Heat a couple tablespoons of oil in a skillet. Cook your potatoes until browned and crisp (season with salt and pepper). Remove to a paper towel lined plate to drain. In the same pan, cook the onions, garlic, bell pepper and jalapeno. Add your potatoes back in and taste to make sure it’s seasoned enough. Stir in the steak slices, keep warm while you cook your eggs. Serve with the eggs on top with scallions for garnish. I served the hash with these delicious and tender buttermilk drop biscuits (just because I’m excessive that way).


Cooking music: Lady Gaga, Born This Way (my cool-ass hipster cred has been thoroughly destroyed. what can I say? I’ve been totally converted to the way of the Gaga. Don’t hate. Just dance. Haha, see what I did there? No? Forget I mentioned it then. Ahem.)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “breakfast for dinner

  1. jewelboxer

    i LOVE lady gaga. i’m not sorry.

    also, scott eats chicken fried steak and eggs way too often when we’re out for breakfast. it is strange to me too.

    i love this hash kick you’re on. it’s like FULL of perfect bites.

  2. rebekah

    I’m glad because if you love her and you’re wicked awesome anyway, then I don’t feel as bad.

    Chicken fried steak and eggs sounds like some seriously joyous combo that would probably kill me with its awesomeness. I’ve never thought to try that combination for breakfast.

    Hash is like the perfect meal – all yummy things in one spot. I love it.

Leave a Reply

