Menu Planning

I’m noticing a trend with the menu making ’round here and that is more often than not I don’t adhere to it as well as I should. You can’t always make life do what you want it to do, when you want it to and that often means shuffling around dinners and breakfasts. For example, Erik ended up having to fill in for someone at the liquor store Friday night so I ate a potato and egg taco instead of that steak I wanted. Carbs and eggs are fine but so is a nice grilled ribeye. I’ll fit it in tonight, rest assured.

I’m also trying to make the menus easier and quicker to fix because we’re already heading into June and the nonstop rain and light snows have meant we STILL can’t plant our vegetable garden yet. (I want to reserve our post-work evenings for digging, planting, weeding, and all that fun stuff). Late planting makes me antsy and nervous. Each year the summers get shorter and the winters get harder, longer, and our sorry excuse for “spring” gets more pathetic. Two of my Saturdays in June are also gone because I have to work. I am not happy about this. That leaves only two Saturdays and four Sundays for garden tending and we have A LOT of plants to tend. I would love someone to pay me just to cook, bake and garden full time …

Saturday
Dinner: grilled ribeyes, baked potatoes, spinach salad with warm bacon dressing

Sunday
Breakfast: spinach and potato breakfast hash (I didn’t plan on making hash two weeks in a row, it just worked out that way), eggs
Dinner: quick oven chicken, baguette slices on the side

Monday
Breakfast: bacon cheddar and scallion scones, scrambled eggs
Dinner: hot wings (I’m craving them)

Tuesday
Breakfast: cinnamon toast, eggs and sausage
Dinner: Erik’s chili, cornbread

Wednesday
Breakfast: something with eggs and toast, I’ll figure it out then.
Dinner: panko pork cutlets with mushroom gravy, mashed potatoes, roasted carrots

Thursday
Breakfast: buttermilk pancakes
Dinner: arroz con pollo that didn’t get made last week

Friday
Breakfast: eggs and bacon, cinnamon toast
Dinner: enchiladas, refried beans

For baking, I’ve got an itch to try out my new baguette pan so there will be baguettes. I’ve also got cinnamon swirl bread in mind, some more garlic dill pickles, some coffee gelato by request from Erik, and chocolate chip cookies for his lunch desserts. My Sunday and Monday off are going to be spent in the kitchen and I couldn’t be happier about it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

