summer fruit

This is the time of year when cherries start coming in from Utah. Despite what the rain, the 20 degree mornings and frost tell me, I know it’s got to be spring-almost-summer somewhere just by the appearance of cherries. I’ll admit the first thing I think of when I see them is (of course) PIE, but I’ve also got visions of cherry jam, hand pies, and just plain pitted cherries on my cornflakes or waffles tantalizing me as well. For father’s day I grilled cheeseburgers for Erik’s dad, mom and grandpa and decided to take the easy route for dessert. The result is this simple, buttery, crispy, sunshiny little cherry crumble. It’s everything a near end of June should be even if Wyoming weather doesn’t agree.

Cherry Almond Crumble
recipe from Honey & Jam

You Need:

3/4 cup of flour
1/2 cup regular oats (not the quick cooking kind)
1/2 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup sliced almonds
1/2 teaspoon salt (I use kosher)
1 stick of butter, melted (I let mine brown, of course)

about 4 cups cherries, pitted and sliced in half (recipe says 1 1/2 pounds – my scale reached that around 4 cups)
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 Tablespoon cornstarch

Heat the oven to 350. Generously butter an 8×8 square baking pan. Set aside. Mix the flour, oats, 1/2 cup brown sugar, almonds, salt and melted butter together until crumbly. Mix together the cherries, 1/3 cup brown sugar, vanilla and cornstarch together until everything is well coated. Spoon the cherry mixture into the baking pan. Sprinkle the crumble on top. Bake for about 45 minutes, or until the filling is bubbly and the crust is deep golden brown. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream.

4 Comments

Filed under Sweet Tooth

4 responses to “summer fruit

  1. Coffeyville doesn’t have cherries. Coffeyville doesn’t have anything. I think I’ll hunt some cherries down in the big city next weekend. This looks so delightful.

  2. rebekah

    it’s like the textbook definition of sweet and salty. and not cloyingly sweet either, thanks to the brown sugar. it’s yum.

    we have to wait until the Utah people park their trucks over in an abandoned parking lot and then we can buy their corn, cherries and peaches real cheap. and then in come the Idaho dudes with their potatoes. Produce buying is fun this time of year.

  3. I agree! Bring on the watermelon trucks. I’m very excited for coffeyville’s lame ass farmer’s market this afternoon.

  4. rebekah

    I’d love to see a watermelon truck. I miss the stands with those delicious black diamonds in Driscoll. at least you have a farmer’s place close by! The one closest to me is 90 minutes drive and it shuts down by a weird time – like 11 a.m. i’m not getting up at 6 just to get to the farmer’s market. damn this place!

Leave a Reply

