good things

1. The ability to watch the new season of True Blood. Look, I’m not saying it’s right and I’m not downloading the episodes, just streaming, but come on HBO! Make them available right away via itunes or something. I’d pay double what I pay to download episodes of other TV shows just to not have to wait an ENTIRE YEAR to see the current season.  I mean naked Erik the vampire in this season (or so I hear, I hope this is going to occur this season): do you honestly think I’m not going to desperately seek out a way to view this? I would dragon kick a freaking puppy to see this. And I love puppies.

2. I was not the one who taught my niece the phrase “holy shit.” And I fully expected it to be me to teach the child that because I have a track record for inadvertently teaching small children “bad” words. (What can I say, it’s a gift). Now I’m equal parts disappointed and relieved that I was not the source from which she picked up that phrase. Truthfully though, I think it is HILARIOUS when children curse. Like when my friend Shauna’s little dude hollered out a choice obscenity while he was in our office getting his shots (he totally said the F word, hahahaha). I laughed for DAYS about that. Days, I tell you.

3. Finally locating some damn pork belly. Rest assured there will be smoking of bacon in this house. THERE WILL BE SMOKING OF BACON, PEOPLE.

4. Girlichef, always. I have a massive lady blogger crush on this lady. Because she keeps giving me excellent recipes to try and these honey buns come from her and I love her for it because they are DELICIOUS.

Honey Buns
recipe from Girlichef

You Need:

(this recipe is halved from the original which is located at the link above)
1 Tablespoon yeast
3/4 teaspoon salt
bread flour – the halved amount is 3 1/4 cups, however I felt I needed a bit more to make a more cohesive dough. But I live in a different altitude than most of my readers so you guys judge for yourselves if you try this recipe
1/2 cup honey
2 Tablespoons canola oil
1 room temp egg

Filling:
1 ounce of butter, room temp
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 Tablespoon cinnamon

Mix the dry ingredients in a large bowl. Mix the honey, egg and oil together in a glass measuring cup. Add enough warm water to equal about two cups. Mix the wet ingredients into the dry and stir it together well. It will be sticky dough. Cover and let it rise for a couple of hours, or until doubled in size. Press it down a bit and stash it in the fridge until morning.

To assemble the rolls: flour your work surface well. This is pretty sticky dough so you want to be well floured so you don’t stick everywhere. Divide the dough in half with a bench scraper. Roll out your first dough piece into a rectangle (the original recipe does 12×8, but I think mine was a bit smaller than that. Don’t know, didn’t measure it, can’t be bothered oh well).  Spread the softened butter on the rectangle (leave about 1/2 to 1 inch border), sprinkle the brown sugar and cinnamon on top of that. Roll the dough into a cylinder, then cut into rolls. Place in a greased baking pan (I used an 8×8 square pan and got about 6 rolls from each dough half). I experimented with this recipe a bit – for the second half of the dough, I cut my rolls and placed them in a greased, round baking pan (to par bake then wrap and freeze so I’ve got another pan of these babies in the freezer as we speak!). Cover the pans with a towel or greased plastic wrap and let them sit another hour or so until they’ve risen up and become puffy. Heat the oven to 350. Bake the rolls until golden brown and baked through. Drizzle with whatever type of glaze or icing you prefer – I ended up using leftover cream cheese frosting from a cake I made.

Just a note: for freezing some of the buns, I used these instructions: I baked the rolls in the other pan for about 15 minutes then took them out and let them cool completely. I wrapped the pan in plastic wrap, then in foil and put them in the freezer. To bake again, let them defrost in the fridge overnight, let them sit at room temp for about half an hour when you want to bake them, then bake until they’re browned. I will let you know if they turn out wonky when I bake the frozen ones, but I have a feeling they’re going to bake up just fine.

These are so fluffy and perfect!

Baking music: Fleet Foxes, Helplessness Blues

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, fun with yeast

Leave a Reply

