burn out

Somewhere in between making my to do list, activating a pharmacy savings card, trying to find time in my schedule to go get an allergy shot, checking the bank balances, trying to find a little time for some freaking fun in our July schedule, answering phones at work and desperately flipping through food blog after food blog just to find two more meals to plug into next week’s meal plan it occurred to me what I need more than anything right now: I need a wife. It would be awfully nice to have someone wash, dry and fold my laundry, make appointments, refill prescriptions, take the damn dog to get his overly sheddy self a haircut, take the other dog to get her stank ass self a freaking bath, empty the dishwasher, plan the meals, vacuum the dog hair off the carpets (even though it was just barely done two days ago), call the car insurance company, and so on and so on. I didn’t come here to whine though. Most people have these exact same issues, the kind of everyday living that bores the crap out of you. Honestly being an adult can suck pretty hardcore.

But I got lucky this week with dinner ideas! Lots of bloggers happened to post recipes that utilized meat I already had in my freezer, veg I already had in the fridge. This particular dinner, courtesy of Thibeault’s Table, had a lot of flavor and was fairly simple (despite the fact that I decided to make flatbread on the grill to accompany it – yeast on a Tuesday night is ordinarily a no-no, but tonight it worked out just fine. And I know, I know, that’s naan and this is not Indian food but I really wanted some naan!).

Chicken Slouvaki
recipe from Thibeault’s Table

You Need:
chicken breasts, boneless, skinless
juice and zest of a lemon
salt, pepper
fresh oregano, finely minced
fresh sprig of rosemary, finely minced
garlic cloves, finely minced
thyme or lemon thyme, finely minced
olive oil

Cut the chicken into 1 inch cubes. Toss into a bowl, add the oregano, rosemary, garlic and thyme. Drizzle with olive oil. Season with salt and pepper. Toss in the lemon zest and squeeze in lemon juice. Mix everything together well and let it marinate in the fridge for about an hour. Thread the chicken onto skewers. Heat up a grill, cook your chicken skewers until cooked through and well seared. Serve with cooked white rice. I also included a salad of romaine, sliced English cucumber, sliced carrots, diced celery, and tomato wedges. I made a quick vinaigrette with olive oil, minced garlic, minced oregano, lemon juice, salt and pepper whisked together and drizzled on the salad. Add some crumbled feta on the salad if you’d like.


Simple tasty is the best kind of tasty, seriously.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “burn out

  1. love this! i was going to make something very similar over the weekend my pita bread didnt turn out so great so i got all pouty and discouraged and fried some chicken strips instead.

    talk to me about your naan..

  2. rebekah

    My pita bread never turns out either is why I usually just stick to naan. I linked the recipe up there – it was actually pretty simple. I hurried along my rising time by turning on the oven, then turning it off and sticking the bowl of dough in there. Instead of baking it, I grilled it alongside the chicken. It takes some practice to grill bread without burning it but it’s worth it – it’s got great flavor!

Leave a Reply

