barbecuing my ass off

Because I can and because I was shocked (shocked I say!) to look up and around me all of a sudden in a matter of days it will be August. AUGUST. Where has my summer gone? If you find him, please send him back to me. Sun and actual heat will all be over soon and I won’t be able to use my grill for 6-7 months. That’s torture, ya’ll.

Lately it’s like every time I sit down to browse food blogs and magazines to plan menus my eyes glaze right over anything whose instructions don’t include “fire up the grill” as a key component to preparing said meal. This has served me very, very well lately, as dinners have included charcoal grilled ribeyes, beer can chickens, various smoked items, and just this past weekend, a barbecue beef sandwich that will knock your socks off. Literally. Socks will be flying. Sunday’s meal proves, yet again, that Christopher Kimball is a bad ass and his magazine (Cook’s Country) is always a good source of fantastic meals.

Just a note: this is an all day in the kitchen type of meal. Probably not a good idea for a weeknight so if you’re in the mood to take your time with the meal and do so with a nice payoff, this is good for that.

Barbecue Pit Beef
recipe from the June/July issue of Cook’s Country

You Need:

Tiger Sauce:
a couple heaping Tablespoons  mayo
a heaping Tablespoon of horseradish (depending on the amount of spice you like – if you don’t like hot things, use less)
a teaspoon or so of lemon juice
a very finely minced or pressed garlic clove
salt and pepper to taste

Mix all these ingredients together. Cover and keep refrigerated until ready to use.

For the Beef:
4 teaspoons salt
1 Tablespoon paprika
1 Tablespoon pepper
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon oregano (optional, I didn’t use this or miss it)
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
*a note: I had leftover seasoning as I used a smaller piece of beef 
1 4 to 5 lb. boneless top sirloin roast trimmed and halved crosswise (I used a barely 2 lb. tri tip roast without halving it and it worked just fine)
kaiser rolls (I used this recipe and just formed them into buns instead of rolls – they were light but sturdy and very tasty)
thinly sliced red onion

Combine the seasoning ingredients in a bowl. Pat your roast dry with paper towel. Sprinkle a couple Tablespoons of the seasoning on the beef and pat it into the meat well. Cover and let it refrigerate from 6 to 24 hours.

Turn all the burners on your grill to high (I used the propane grill because the heat is easier to control). Put the cover down on the grill and let it heat up for about 15 minutes. Leave on the main burners, but turn the rest off. Lay your beef on a square of foil and make like a packet for your beef. Place the meat packet on the cool side of the grill and cook until the meat is about 100 degrees (F). This took me about 30-40 minutes. Take the roast off the grill and turn all your burners back on. Cover and let it heat up. Season the beef again with some more of your seasoning. Place the beef directly onto the grill (sans foil) and grill until well browned all over and it registers about 125 degrees (this will be kind of rare). Transfer to a carving board, let the meat rest 10-15 minutes, then slice it up thinly against the grain.

Serve the beef on warmed rolls drizzled with the tiger sauce and topped with the onions.

Yes, I photographed my sandwich upside down. Quit judging me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

