lazy day dinner

I said earlier this week that I was really looking forward to Tuesday night’s dinner: it did not disappoint. I want to be its best friend for life. I want to eat it all day, every day for the next 10 years. It just… love it. So much. I’m almost 100% certain that it’s not “authentic” biryani, per se. For one thing, it is made out of beef, but putting your own spin on recipes is the best part of cooking. For me, this was like a good carne guisada just made with different spices. I also served these with a new recipe for flatbreads that I came across that blew my mind. They’re just like eating flour tortillas and just as simple to make. All in all, it’s just a comfortable meal and you really can’t ask for better than that for dinner (especially if it’s the last day home of a glorious four day weekend and you’re not looking forward to trudging back to work. I’m thinking of offering up this dish to my boss in exchange for paying me to stay home, lay on the couch in dirty jeans and watch Six Feet Under DVDs. I doubt it will work but you never know til you try, right?)

Beef Biryani with Flatbreads
recipe adapted (heavily) from Food.com 

You Need:

beef, I used a couple thick-ish rib eye steaks my mother in law shared with us, cut into 1 inch cubes and trimmed of any large hunks of fat. This made enough for 2 hefty dinner portions and a lunch portion for me to tote to work. You can use standard stewing beef if you want.
a small white onion, sliced thinly
a small green bell pepper (or 1/2 a large one), sliced into strips
1-2 large garlic cloves, minced
about a Tablespoon of ginger, grated
a teaspoon of tumeric
a teaspoon of chile powder
a teaspoon of ground coriander
salt, pepper
oil
basmati rice for serving

Heat a couple Tablespoons of oil in a large dutch oven. Salt and pepper your meat. Brown the meat in batches, turning it to let all sides of the beef get nicely browned. Remove to another plate. In the same pan, saute your onions until golden. Add in the bell pepper strips. Add in your spices, garlic, and ginger. Cook for a minute or two. Add the beef back into the pot, cover with water (I used about 4 cups total). You may need to add some more salt after you add the water. Taste it and see if it’s seasoned to your liking. Place the lid on the pot and let this simmer until the beef is very soft, about an hour. Serve over cooked basmati rice with flatbreads.

Flatbreads
recipe adapted from Julie Goodwin * this is my halved version of the linked recipe

You Need:

2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 1/2 Tablespoons of butter
3/4 cup milk

In a saucepan, combine the milk and butter and heat just until the butter melts. In a bowl, combine the salt and flour. Add the butter-milk mixture and stir to make a soft-ish dough. Knead the dough for a couple of minutes on a lightly floured surface. Cover with a towel and let it sit at room temp for about 30 minutes. Separate the  dough into pieces (I got 7 out of my halved dough). Roll each piece out as you would a flour tortilla – into thin rounds. Heat a cast iron skillet. Brush with a little olive oil and butter. Cook your flatbreads one at a time, until bubbled and golden on each side (re-oil your skillet as needed). Serve with your biryani.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “lazy day dinner

  1. Pingback: you wouldn’t like me when I’m angry | Food Food Food!

Leave a Reply

