a quickie

It’s breakfast yaw’ll! (In my head, for the past week or so, I’ve been talking like Paula Deen. I don’t know why. If I could find a wig, I’d dress up as Paula Deen for Halloween in a split second). This was tasty yaw’ll! The only thing missing was the salsa that I didn’t have time to make!

Breakfast Tostadas
I can’t remember now where I saw this. I think I glanced at a picture of it on Tastespotting and decided to put it on the menu without looking at an actual recipe.

You Need:

pinto beans for smashing
corn tortillas
oil
bacon
eggs
shredded cheddar cheese
salsa for serving

Heat oil in a pan and fry your tortillas until browned and crispy on both sides. Alternatively, you can heat your oven to 350, spray both sides of a corn tortilla with cooking spray, and bake them in the oven until they’re brown and crispy. Cook your bacon until crisp, crumble it up if you’d like. Remove to a paper towel lined plate. In the leftover bacon grease, cook your pinto beans, warming them then smashing them for refried beans. Turn off the heat and set aside. Scramble your eggs and cook them up how you like them. To assemble, smear refried beans on a tostada shell. Sprinkle with cheddar cheese. Top with scrambled egg and bacon. Repeat with all the tostada shells. If I had time, I would have served this with hot sauce or pico de gallo or even just some chopped white onion and cilantro.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

