lunch!

Lunch is hard sometimes, ya’ll. Some days the most stressful part of my day is deciding what to take for lunch. Yes I know, I lead some kind of charmed life where lunch is all I have to worry about, I realize that. Today the little leftover pasta bake I originally brought is going to continue to sit in the fridge because someone at Tastespotting posted a photo of a stack of pancakes. My brain and stomach immediately went “get me that.” So I went home and made pancakes. I didn’t want to make a full batch because I don’t like reheated pancakes. And God bless Joy the Baker because she posted a “Single Lady Pancake” awhile back that I modified to get two extremely fluffy and delicious, vanilla-y pancakes. Also: there was bacon. That was the highlight of my Wednesday, for sure.

Single Lady Pancake
recipe adapted from Joy the Baker

You need:
1/3 cup plus 1 Tablespoon flour
2 teaspoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
pinch of salt
1 Tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons of oil (I was skeptical about this part too but it works)
1/4 cup plus 2 Tablespoons of buttermilk
1/4 teaspoon of vanilla

Dump everything in a bowl and stir it up into a cohesive batter. Grease a large skillet or a griddle if you want, cook your pancakes until golden on both sides and cooked through. Serve with butter and syrup. And bacon. It’s probably not the most filling and healthy lunch but give me a break; it’s cold and rainy outside and that pasta bake looked really sad. Like the kind of sad where I’d probably just pick the cheese off and eat that and then eat the garlic bread that came with it and that would be my lunch. Cheese and garlic bread. That’s definitely not better than a pancake. And definitely not as delicious.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “lunch!

  1. Usually, I just make sandwiches for lunch cuz I’m boring like that. Or I make a huge salad.

Leave a Reply

