Menu Planning

I feel like I just barely stopped complaining about snow and cold and here it is again upon us. I feel sorry for you guys who have to listen to my bitching about the snow for the next 7 or 8 months. But do take pity on poor, cold, snowy Western Wyoming, ya’ll. Soups and stews have worked their way back into the menu slowly, because they’re warming and just pleasant to eat when it’s 20 degrees outside. There are many warm, comfort foods on the menu this week which is fine with me and my October work overtime.

Saturday
Dinner: caldo tlalpeno, corn tortillas, salsa

Sunday
Breakfast: flatbread breakfast “pizza” (this is actually going to be modified somewhat as originally it is made on pitas but I am making those flatbreads that I have fallen in love with)
Dinner: roast beef, mashed potatoes and gravy, roasted carrots

Monday
Breakfast: hammy grits, eggs, toast
Dinner: mini meatball risotto, garlic bread, salad

Tuesday
Breakfast: sour cream pancakes
Dinner: pork chops, rolls, peas, some form of potato

Wednesday
Breakfast: apple cinnamon oatmeal, soft boiled egg, toast
Dinner: beef po’boy, onion strings, last of the Utah corn

Thursday
Breakfast: Denver omelets, toast
Dinner: carne asada tacos (found some skirt steak hidden in the freezer!), seared jalapenos and onions, beans or rice. Haven’t decided yet.

Friday
Breakfast: regular ol’ egg scramble with bacon
Dinner: picking up pizza because I’m working a flu clinic in the next town over until 7 p.m.

For baking, I am making another batch of baguettes; one to freeze, one to use for garlic bread and po’ boys. I was thinking of making that peach pound cake that we’ve made before because it is so yummy, but then I’ve also craved chocolate something fierce this week so I might go running towards a pan of brownies. We’ll see!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

