a short blogging vacation

Well more of a screeching halt on inspiration and interesting things to say. I’m not quite sure I still have anything interesting to say right now.

1. It’s been 4 days since Halloween and I *still* can’t get some of the fake, glued on nails (I applied them for my costume) off my fingers. I look strange. I have half regular, non polished nails and half black, plastic ones that have been hacked up because I couldn’t do anything with those ridiculously long monster claws I was wearing. I don’t know how real long nail ladies do anything.

2. I think I need to find a way to make sure my foodie friend Son doesn’t leave me alone on the internet for very long. When he’s gone and we’re not talking food, my menu looks like “oh what are we having for dinner? Um let’s have some huge cheeseburgers” and when he’s back it’s all “what’s for dinner?” “ohh vietnamese beef stew” or “beer braised pork belly.” Real good things. Dinner is sometimes inordinately hard and that’s stupid, considering I subscribe to many, MANY food magazines.

3. Our traveling flu clinics and overtime are over now that October is done (yay). I looked at my calendar and Thanksgiving is not the far off dream I assumed it still was. Menu planning is currently happening. I am very excited about this.

See? Nothing particularly fascinating in Rebekah-land.

Also, I am still coveting Homesick Texan’s new cookbook (it’s isn’t available at my library yet) but her blog has been a neverending parade of excellent recipes, like this one. It’s a new way of making enchiladas for me and I’m glad I tried them. I usually use a chili sauce instead a tomato based one (out of pure Tex Mex snobbery, no real good reason other than that) but this is delicious.

Entomatadas
recipe by Homesick Texan

You Need:

1 can of fire roasted tomatoes (I used Hunt’s brand 14.5 ounce can)
a few tablespoons of yellow onion, diced
1 large or 2 small garlic cloves, finely minced
a jalapeno or serrano, diced (optional)
a teaspoon or so of cumin
a pinch of allspice
a 1/2 teaspoon or so of ground coriander
salt and pepper to taste
corn tortillas
oil
shredded monterey jack cheese (enough for filling your enchiladas and topping them)
cilantro, diced scallions, lime wedges for serving

Preheat the oven to 350. In a blender or food processor, puree the tomatoes until smooth. Add the cumin, coriander, and allspice to the tomatoes. Blend it all together. Heat a tablespoon or so of oil in a pan on medium heat. Saute your onions and garlic and chiles until the onions are softened. Pour in the pureed tomatoes. Cook for a few minutes until the mixture is slightly thicker. Add salt and pepper and adjust your seasonings if necessary (for example more cumin if you’re into that).  In another pan, heat a couple tablespoons of oil. Pass your corn tortillas through the hot oil just long enough to soften them. Drain on paper towel lined plates. Fill these tortillas with cheese and roll up. Place in a baking pan (I used a 9×13 pan – big enough to hold 10 enchiladas). Cover the enchiladas with the sauce, then sprinkle with cheese. Bake until the cheese on top melts. Serve hot with your cilantro, scallions and limes. I served these with Mexican rice and refried beans.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

