Menu Planning

It’s Thanksgiving week! I am ridiculously excited about it.  I adore cooking Thanksgiving dinner. I also love eating it. And planning it. And showing off my kitchen skills to in laws who are already well aware of said skills. If I were a far less antisocial person, I would be the dinner party throwing sort. But I don’t generally like people and talking to them so I don’t do this. In my mind though, where I am witty and fun (all those things I am not in real life) I have marvelous, big dinner parties. In real life, Thanksgiving is as close as I get to that. This week’s menu is not fancy because all of my efforts go towards Thursdays dinner. It will however, still be very tasty.

Saturday
Dinner: King Ranch Chicken. I haven’t had it in a long time.

Sunday
Breakfast: bacon, potato and egg casserole
Dinner: chicken fried steak (I blame Son for putting this into my head), mashed potatoes, and a vegetable. Something hiding deep within the recesses of my freezer, no doubt.

Monday
Breakfast: pumpkin spice French toast
Dinner: pork chops, some kind of potato, peas

Tuesday
Breakfast: apple banana bread (courtesy of Katie), soft boiled eggs, sausage
Dinner:  ground beef tostadas with cheese, salsa, guacamole and all that good stuff.

Wednesday
Breakfast: fried eggs, bacon, toast
Dinner: tamales, beans, salsa

Thursday
Breakfast: biscuits and sausage gravy
Dinner: THANKSGIVING! I’ve changed my dressing to browned butter sage dressing but that is the only change to the menu I previously published.

Friday
Breakfast: egg scramble, toast
Dinner: Thanksgiving leftovers (honestly, that’s the best part of Thanksgiving)

I won’t do too much baking this week except for Holiday pies; there will definitely be sweet potato and two pumpkins. I’ve got a pumpkin yeast bread planned, part of that loaf will become our French toast.

A quick detour: I have to advertise my friend Son’s blog for a second (I am also contributing once in awhile to said blog but this is mainly his baby). It’s called A Feast For One and it showcases all of the wonderful things he regularly cooks and gorgeous photography. He is also the best food plater I have ever seen so there’s that too. Please visit! You won’t regret it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

