the best parts of a Sunday

What makes a Sunday great for me is something yeasty baking in the oven.

I made this bread because I went and did what I said I wouldn’t do this year: Every year I buy cans of pumpkin even though I’ve got two or three (the big cans I mean, not the reasonably sized ones). I said to myself, “Self, you have three huge cans of pumpkin in the pantry, don’t buy anymore.” Then I got to the big grocery store in Idaho Falls, saw the pumpkin display and grabbed two. I’m utterly helpless against the big canned pumpkin displays, man. They’re hypnotic, what can I say? Anyway, this bread is delicious. It’s got a lovely crumb and makes awesome toast. Plus it’s a way to use up pumpkin if you happen to have a huge stash like I do.

Pumpkin Yeast Bread
recipe by King Arthur Flour

You Need:

1/2 cup warm water
2 Tablespoons yeast
2/3 cup milk, warmed (I used whole)
2 large eggs, beaten
1 1/2 cups pumpkin puree (NOT pumpkin pie mix just straight pumpkin)
2 Tablespoons oil
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
about 6 – 6 1/2 cups flour

In the bowl of your stand mixer, combine the water and yeast and let it sit until the yeast is foamy. Add in the milk, eggs, pumpkin, oil, brown sugar, salt, ginger and cardamom and mix together. Add in the flour a little at a time and mix with the kneading hook until you get a smooth, elastic dough. I used the full 6 1/2 cups of flour – you may need more or less depending on how your dough looks. Plop your dough into a large greased bowl, cover and let it rise until doubled (about an hour).

Place the dough onto a lightly greased counter. Divide in half. Spray two large loaf pans with cooking spray. Shape your dough into loaves – you can get two large bread loaves or make rolls out of these – and place each loaf in their prepared pan. Cover and let rise again until doubled. Heat the oven to 350. Bake the bread until the tops sound hollow when tapped or until the inside reaches 190 degrees. Remove from the pans and let them cool on a wire rack.

I gave a bite to my pumpkin hater and asked how he liked it. He said “yeah it’s good. Why is it orange?” “Ha!” I said. “You just ate something with pumpkin!” “Oh. Well it tasted okay.” Ehh such a jerkface, this one. I’m going to dose him with pumpkin a little at a time until he likes it.

Leave a comment

Filed under fun with yeast

Leave a Reply

