Menu Planning

So Erik picked out an 18 lb. turkey for Thanksgiving. Exactly four people attended Thanksgiving dinner this year and only three of those people ate turkey. I have a lot of freaking turkey left over (though I am not complaining about this). I have only one dish of turkey leftovers planned currently, but there will probably be a bag of turkey in the freezer for awhile yet. I’m toying with the idea of creating my friend Son’s idea of turkey spring rolls. In fact I can’t get them out of my mind. I also happened across a creamy turkey and wild rice soup that will use up turkey and turkey broth I currently have frozen. I’m looking forward to these leftovers, people.

This week I’m concentrating on making dinners as easy as possible because I have more tamales yet to make as well as starting on Christmas candy and cookies. The goal is to get them done and get them mailed by mid December.

Saturday
Dinner: chili cheese hot dogs and onion rings. Nasty good.

Sunday
Breakfast: conchas, eggs, sausage
Dinner: beer braised carnitas, rice, beans

Monday
Breakfast: those breakfast flatbreads I never got around to making a couple months ago.
Dinner: turkey shepherd’s pie, rolls

Tuesday
Breakfast: crunchy pecan waffles (well walnut instead of pecans because I’m hoarding my pecans. I refuse to pay almost $20 for a fecking pound of pecans)
Dinner: baked rosemary lemon chicken with red potatoes and mushrooms, rolls

Wednesday
Breakfast: breakfast tacos
Dinner: Italian meatball soup (with spinach and such in it), breadsticks

Thursday
Breakfast: poached egg and bacon breakfast sandwiches
Dinner: fideo soup, corn tortillas

Friday
Breakfast: an egg scramble and toast
Dinner: Cha Sui pork, steamed rice, spring rolls

My extras this week include more tamales and starting my Christmas caramels. I may make cookie doughs and freeze them but I haven’t decided yet.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

