scones are confusing

A lot of things are confusing to me, actually. At home, scones are triangular biscuity goodness (or round, some people do make them round); here in Wyoming and in Utah, scones are basically fry bread (and totally delicious, I am in love with them with honey or a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar). I recently saw a recipe for “drop scones” and thought “awesome! I can eliminate the cutting them up part and just drop them on the baking sheet.” Except these drop scones were actually more pancake than biscuit. I have since found out that in places like Australia, these “drop scones” are referred to as “pikelets” and I have to say I think I like them even better than the usual pancake. Pikelets are not quite as delicate as pancakes, but they’re no less fluffy inside. They’re sturdy and hearty and perfect with a little butter and jam smeared on top. This is a good thing for me because I grew up eating my pancakes with butter and jam instead of syrup (my mother only ever bought that nasty Karo pancake “syrup” when we were kids, so I skipped it in favor of jam. I didn’t get my hands on actual, wonderful, delicious pure maple syrup until I was an adult). But it’s a little hard to put jam on your normal pancakes. They have a tendency to tear. Not these though. I halved the original recipe and I think they make  marvelous mid morning snack in addition to breakfast.

Drop Scones/Pikelets 
recipe from Simply Recipes

You Need:

1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons cream of tartar
pinch of salt (or 1/8 of a teaspoon if we’re getting technical)
1 egg
2 Tablespoons of sugar
3/4 cup whole milk (I used 2% and it came out fine)
1 Tablespoon of melted butter

Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside. Mix the egg with the sugar in another bowl. Mix the milk into that. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix together until everything is incorporated (don’t overmix). Fold in the melted butter into the batter. Start heating your griddle or a cast iron pan to medium heat. Spray with cooking spray or melt some butter. Drop spoonfuls of batter onto the pan (I used a standard size serving spoon and made the cakes just a bit bigger. The batter is fairly thick so I wouldn’t make these too huge or they may not cook through all the way). Cook, flipping them once, until browned on both sides and cooked through. Serve them however you like; we did butter and syrup for Erik and butter and jam for me.

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

2 responses to “scones are confusing

  1. Gasp!!! Not only appealing, but sooo beautiful, too.

    Presentation is everything, and I’m definitely saving this recipe to make very, very soon.

    Thanks!!!

  2. rebekah

    Thank you! These are also great if you don’t like syrup from a regular pancake pooling into your eggs. They’re just so sturdy and fluffy and good.

Leave a Reply

