I might need an intervention soon

Because I am addicted to jam making. And I don’t know enough people to help me eat these jams. There are currently about 20 jars of varying sizes in the pantry. And I went and added 5 more to the pile this weekend. One of these days may find me slumped over on the floor of the pantry with a spoon sticking out of my mouth, surrounded by empty jars of jam and a glazed look in my eye while I’m muttering jam related things to myself. But I just. Can’t. Stop. Making. Jam. Not when there are so many great, unique recipes and concoctions to be had! And the jars are just so beautiful to look at! I bought some blood oranges from the grocery store a week or so ago not sure how I was going to use them, but I wanted them because blood oranges are gorgeous and they were on sale. Then I came across a blog that collected a bunch of really great winter fruit canning recipes and an absolutely mind blowing blood orange marmalade was among them. So down my canner came from its storage spot and out came my jars. The whole endeavor also gave me a chance to test my new dishwashers fancy little functions, my favorite one being the “sanitize” cycle. The point of all this is I made this blood orange marmalade and I’m not sorry. At all. It’s a gorgeous red jar and the contents are blissfully delicious on toast or a biscuit. If you’re up for some winter canning, make this marmalade. And if you’re not, please come to Wyoming and help me eat it. If I still have this much jam kicking around the pantry come summer I won’t need to make any and that’s just not going to work for me, people. I MUST JAM!

Blood Orange Marmalade
recipe adapted from Food in Jars

You Need:

blood oranges, I used 6
sugar, I follow my standard jam making recipe which is however many cups of fruit you end up with, use 3/4 that amount of sugar. I ended up with 6 cups of fruit, so I used 5 cups of sugar.
3 cups water
cheesecloth
your standard canning material, if you’re going to preserve them or just regular jars with lids to keep the marmalade in the fridge

Slice the ends off your oranges. Cut them in half and pull out any seeds you find (there may not be any seeds in some of them and that’s fine too) and cut out the core. Set the cores and seeds aside. Start making thin slices of each of the halves of the oranges, then slice them again down the middle. The link above has some nice pictures of how the oranges should look sliced up. Go there and check it out if you want. Place the sliced up oranges in a large bowl. Wrap the cores and the seeds up tightly in some cheesecloth. Nestle the cheesecloth bundle in the middle of the oranges. Cover the oranges in 3 cups cold water. Cover the bowl and refrigerate it overnight.

When you’re ready to can, remove the cheesecloth bundle and discard it. Pour the oranges and water into a large pot. Add in your sugar. Heat this mixture on medium-high, stirring regularly, until it gels (or reaches about 220 degrees). Set a plate in the freezer to check your jam. When you think it might be ready, put a little jam on the cold plate, put it back in the freezer for a minute. When you touch the marmalade on the plate, it should be set and wrinkly. Divide the marmalade evenly into jars and follow your normal water bath canning process (I’ve talked so much about canning on this blog I’m going to go ahead and assume you all know how to do this. If not, there’s a link here that gives you basic instructions on how to water bath can.) Or if you make a smaller batch of this, just pop your filled jars into the fridge.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

