haters gonna…learn not to be haters once in awhile

I hate sloppy joes. I think they’re disgusting. Most of them end up cloyingly sweet for God knows what reason. I hate the ketchup bomb that goes off in my mouth when I taste one and I hate that gross, soft, disturbing texture. I hate the mess they make, the stains they produce on shirts. I think they’re straight up nasty. So naturally I decided to make sloppy joes for dinner. But I did it for some good reasons. Number one being that my husband really likes sloppy joes and in the almost six years we have been married he has been deprived of them because as long as I draw breath on this earth there will never be a can of Manwich or whatever it’s called to be found in my grocery cart. Also, this recipe. It caught my attention because it started with the words “Tex Mex” and that’s pretty much the fastest way to get my attention most of the time. Also because the ingredient I hated most about sloppy joes is not a main feature of this meal. Also: guacamole. On a toasted kaiser roll. With a little bit of Monterey Jack cheese and fries and a beer. That’s enough to make a hater like me forget all the reasons I was hating in the first place.

P.S: there are no measurements in my post because in the immortal words of my friend Amanda “eff teaspoons.” and cups and tablespoons and all that jazz. The link above has measurements if you need/want them.

Tex Mex Sloppy Joes
recipe adapted from Homesick Texan

You Need:
ground beef, enough for two people’s worth of sandwiches (and maybe some lunch leftovers, up to you)
diced onion
diced bell pepper
minced garlic cloves
1-2 canned chipotle chiles
tomato sauce (I used an 8 ounce can)
Mexican oregano
cumin
ground coriander
a couple glugs of worcestershire sauce
a couple squirts of ketchup
some beer (I used about half a 12 ounce bottle of Shiner, maybe more. I did not measure I just know I didn’t use the whole bottle)
cilantro
juice of a lime
salt and pepper
buns for serving
guacamole for topping
shredded monterey jack or some crumbled cotija cheese
regular jalapeno slices or pickled jalapenos for topping

In a skillet over medium heat, cook and crumble up the ground beef, cooking until it’s done (no pink). Add in the onion, garlic, bell pepper and cook a few more minutes. In a blender or food processor, puree the tomato sauce, chipotle, cumin, oregano, coriander, the worcestershire sauce, and some of the cilantro together. Pour this puree, the beer, and the ketchup into the ground beef mixture and cook, stirring occasionally, until it has thickened up. Squeeze some lime juice over everything and mix it in. Season with salt and pepper. To serve, toast up a kaiser roll or a regular hamburger bun, spread some guacamole on one side, spoon some sloppy joe mixture on the other side and sprinkled with cheese if you want, topped with jalapenos. This is a messy sandwich, just so you know, but the mess is worth it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

