Meatless Monday

Yes. Meatless Monday is back. Sort of. I am, in my heart of hearts, a red meat kind of girl but even I can admit that we’re eating a little too much of it. The meatless dishes that appeal most to me are ones that are packed full of flavor and not ones that feature ingredients as meat substitutes per se; I’m not the type of girl who will slap a mushroom between two buns and call it a hamburger. No offense to people who like that sort of thing, but for me: no. It offends my burger loving sensibilities. And tofu? Just no. I cannot with tofu. But soups and stews – those are perfect meatless vehicles. When I saw tonight’s posole on Sweet Life Bake, it reminded me of a really awesome vegetarian chili I made awhile back. Loads of flavors, lots of veggies, lots of possibilities for toppings that made it even heartier. It’s not totally vegetarian as I used chicken stock I made this weekend but vegetable broth could easily be swapped in. You don’t miss the meat at all, trust me. Also: it took me like, 30 minutes to make it, especially when you mix up the chile puree the day before.

Posole de Frijol 
recipe from Sweet Life Bake

You Need:

a mixture of dried chiles: I used a large dried ancho, a large guajillo, a large New Mexican chile, and a couple dried chile arbol for heat
oil
diced white onion (I used about a quarter of a large one)
garlic cloves (I used 3 large cloves)
chicken or vegetable stock (I used a full quart as I wanted leftovers)
a can of diced tomatoes (I wanted the fire roasted ones but couldn’t find them-try to use those if you can!)
a can of hominy, drained (white or yellow – doesn’t matter)
a cupful or so of cooked pinto beans, drained (or use a can of them if you don’t have any prepared)
cumin, a good shake of it, like maybe a couple teaspoons
salt, pepper
limes
radishes, cilantro, pickled jalapenos, green onion or whatever you want for topping

Toss your chiles into a pot of hot water and let it simmer, turning the chiles occasionally until they have softened. Over the sink, tear off the stems and the insides and discard. Put the softened chiles in a blender or a food processor and process until the chiles are pureed.  Set aside. Heat a tablespoon or so of oil in a soup pot. Saute the onion and garlic. Add in the tomatoes, cumin and stock, bring to a simmer. Add in the hominy and beans.  Stir in the pureed chiles and juice of a lime. Season with salt and pepper. Let it simmer until everything comes together (like 15-20 minutes). Serve with cilantro and radishes, pickled jalapenos, sliced green onion, more limes, or whatever toppings you like. I did a bit of fried tortilla strips for me and Erik just ate his with plain corn tortillas. This recipe made enough for one bowl for me, two servings for Erik and plenty of leftovers for work lunches.

2 Comments

Filed under veg-a-rific

2 responses to “Meatless Monday

  1. SO glad you enjoyed the recipe. I personally have made it 3 times playing with different chile combos, it’s a family fav!!

    • rebekah

      oh it was so, so good. I’m going to use different chile combos again next time too. It’s such a filling meal without the meat. I think I like it better than its meaty versions. Thanks for posting it!

Leave a Reply

