lunch is hard

Lunch planning has gotten harder lately. I’ve gotten back into the habit of scrounging for crumbs (and usually things I shouldn’t be eating) because I don’t have it in me to plan every single bite that we eat beyond breakfast and dinner. Erik is sick of cold sandwiches but he has no access to a microwave or stove during the day and he doesn’t like soup in the summertime. It’s forcing us to get creative and some days I’m just too damn lazy to be creative. It puts me in a bad mood to be forced into something I’m not feeling. But Mr. “I Need Some Lunch Variety” was put in charge of his own lunch menu and every day for something like 3 weeks he asked for and took cold pasta salad. I’m pretty sure laziness had something to do with that decision. This week I took cans out of the pantry and veg out of the fridge and kind of stumbled my way into a Mexican style bean salad that I think he quite likes. Pop a hardboiled egg (which he loves), some watermelon (which he also loves), maybe a cookie, maybe some buttered sourdough bread I’ve baked and he’s happy. I think even I would skip the hot dogs at noon for this.

Mexican-ish Bean Salad 

You Need:
half a can or a whole can (depending on how much you want) black beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 to 1 cup cooked pinto beans, rinsed and drained
a few Tablespoons of red onion, diced
a garlic clove, diced
a few Tablespoons of diced red bell pepper
a few Tablespoons of diced green bell pepper
a few Tablespoons of diced anaheim or poblano chile
a diced up serrano chile (totally optional, use this only if you want some heat)
chopped cilantro
salt, pepper
ground cumin
ground coriander
chile powder
olive oil
juice of 1 lime

Mix the beans and the veggies and the garlic together in a bowl. In a separate bowl, put in about 1/2 to 1 whole teaspoon of cumin, coriander, chile powder and the lime juice. Drizzle in some olive oil – maybe 1/4 cup? – enough to make a vinaigrette. Sorry, I don’t measure. I just drizzle in until it looks right. Season with salt and pepper. Toss the vinaigrette with the beans and veg until everything is mixed well together. Serve right away or refrigerate and dish it up as you need it. I think this would taste good with some crumbled queso fresco on top, if only I had access to it instead of having to make it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

