gone crazy, be back soon

Or, you know, not. On Wednesday, a lady came in the office with her family to get flu shots. She was filling out her husband’s consent form and asked him “how old are you?” I heard him say “32.” I gave him the side eye immediately because 32 is one whole year older than me. Just one. In my head I was like “there is no way that dude is 32. that man is clearly in his 40s. he does not look just one year older than me.” And then I started panicking because what if my age gauge-r is off? Do I look like I’m 40? I don’t see “in her 40s” when I look in the mirror. Do young people come in my office and go “that bitch is clearly in her 40s.” And I kept panicking thinking I looked old and decrepit because if this 32 year old dude looked old then obviously my 31 year old ass looked old too and I was about two seconds away from running off to find the blood of young virgins to bathe in and then I looked at his paperwork and it said “42” under his age. Oh. So my age gauge-r isn’t broken. I was right about his age. But now I’m starting to worry about hearing loss in my old age…

Aging is SO WEIRD YA’LL. I didn’t think about this kind of stuff when I was 29… Anyway, my old, decrepit self made this divine cake for our office Christmas party and it’s so good that I don’t even care about possibly looking like I’m in my 40s.

Pumpkin Tres Leches Cake 
recipe from My Love for Cooking 

You need:

2 cups pumpkin puree
2 cups sugar
1 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup evaporated milk
1/2 cup heavy cream
3/4 cup sweetened condensed milk

Heat your oven to 350. Spray a 9×13 baking pan with Baker’s Joy or Pam for Baking or just grease the damn thing. Beat the pumpkin together with the sugar and oil. Beat in the eggs. In another bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Mix the dry ingredients with the wet stuff. Pour the batter into the prepared pan. Bake until a tester inserted into the cake comes out clean. Let the cake cool for a bit. Poke holes all over the surface of the cake with a fork (gently, I mean, don’t like rip the cake apart). In a bowl, whisk together the evaporated milk, the heavy cream, and the condensed milk. Pour this mixture over the cake. It will pool up but after awhile it will have soaked into the cake. I like to refrigerate my tres leches cake and let it sit for a few hours before I serve it to let everything soak in. I made this the night before our party. It was perfect the next day. Serve with whipped cream. I added cinnamon in my whipped cream – it was pretty tasty.

DSCN1387

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

